Quicktime files from CR2 jerking f at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 16th, 2010, 11:46 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
Quicktime files from CR2 jerking f

Someone just gave me several DVDs full of Quicktime files of footage shot from a still camera. There are also some original CR2 files on there.
The files ;are jerking, and some have black flashes running through them.
I"ve never worked with this before. I'm assuming this is a function of either my capability to play them, or something in the output? As opposed to a defective file? I only viewed one or two files on her machine, but there didn't appear to be any flashing or jerking at all.
My QT version is 7.6.4.
My machine won't open the CR2 file. I'll have to figure out what it needs to do that.
I need to bring these into FCP to edit. It's an older version (HD) and so I hope that is not a barrier. I assumed QT files would be fine.
YouTube - MVI_0286.MOV
Thanks
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2010, 09:36 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
...Anybody? I'm supposed to have this to her today but I have no idea where to go with it. Thanks
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2010, 09:49 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Posts: 167
The CR2 files are Canon raw files. You'll need Photoshop or another photo editor that can open raw files.

If the video files played fine on another machine, I would definitely think the problem is on your end. If these quicktime files are from a DSLR such as the Canon 5D Mark II, then they're huge and will take a lot of processing power to work with. Try a conversion program such as MPEG Streamclip to down-convert to a smaller standard-def file that the computer can handle.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/TCPalmSherriNestico
Sherri Nestico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2010, 10:14 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
I have CS3 but I don't think it's supported. I don't have Lightroom. I recall downloading mpeg streamclip at one point, but don't see it anywhere on my system now, so I'll download i t and maybe it can reconvert them to something usable?
What I don't understand is that QT files play just fine on my machine. So there shouldn't be a problem.
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2010, 10:22 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
I think the file played fine on the other machine. SHe showed me one or two clips and I don't recall seeing it jerk. But there are about a hundred files, and they all jerk.
I don't know if she showed me the qt or the raw files on her machine. I've emailed her to see if she has this problem on her machine.
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2010, 10:44 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
Still waiting to get to view the files. Does anyone here know if there is any way to view camera raw files other than upgrading from Adobe CS3 to CS4?
I looked on the mpeg streamclip page and didn't see CR2 as a supported file.
Seems to me there should be some program out there that would open these files.
I've gone to the Adobe solutions page and walked through the solutions.
I've installed the latest camera raw plugin for cs3 - 4.6. It won't open.
I installed the dng converter and downconverted. It tells me it doesn't recognize that type of file.
This is a major pain in the neck. This file is supposed to be edited by now and I've spent the better part of my evening searching for a solution just to view the file.
I suspect the problem may be in the actual shooting. I only saw a very quick clip, and she was adjusting her shot, and we were talking also.. so I may not have noticed the jerking if it was there.
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2010, 11:04 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Posts: 167
If the raw files are from a Canon 5d Mark II, you'll definitely have to go up to Photoshop CS4. Or the latest Adobe Lightroom. I've also used Photo Mechanic to open Canon raw files. I seem to remember a free Windows camera raw viewer being released by Microsoft several years ago. Might want to Google for "free raw viewer" to check that out.

The Canon raw files are not video, they are photos, which is why MPEG Streamclip wouldn't support them.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/TCPalmSherriNestico
Sherri Nestico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17th, 2010, 11:16 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
Oh, really? I was assuming they were some sort of raw video format that she shot, which was then converted to QT. That's why I wanted to view them, believing them to be the original files - to see if there was jerking.
I don't really need the stills.
So they weren't converted from CR2 to mov? Then the problem couldn't be in conversion.
I'm not on the latest system but there is no reason then that my system would be weirdly viewing QT files. If QT opens them, then it must be fine.
I'm guessing at this point, that it's in the shooting then. I've left a message to get over there and have a look at the files on her machine, just to be sure.
We can't use these. The jerking in it makes it unwatchable.
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 18th, 2010, 07:52 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
Now that's weird...

I viewed the files today on her machine and yes, there is some mild jerking and camera movement, but not like on mine.
I saw that one of the interview clips was straight, so I checked it on my machine. Jerking, big time, and the video out of sync with the audio.
So I brought it into FCP and rendered part of it. Had to leave so I didn't have a chance to render the entire clip - but it was straight and synced up.
My version of QT is 7.6.4 (Tiger), and hers was 7.6.6 Leopard. She is most likely on an Intel machine.
But these are mov files, not something weird.
Any thoughts on what this might be or how to work with it, without rending all...hundred or so..files?

has anyone ever experienced an out of sync file after it was burned to a dvd? Although I'm guessing that if that was the issue, the file would not be rendering in FCP.
There's got to be a way to do this without rendering all those clips - just so I can review them.
Thanks.

Last edited by Kell Smith; May 18th, 2010 at 11:18 PM.
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19th, 2010, 06:55 PM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
Okay, I remembered you said this, and came back to this today, now that I know that the cr2 files aren't source video files, but just image files. So I downconverted one of the files and it solved the problem of being able to play/preview it. Good. So that's what's happening.
Now another question. What is the best format to downconvert, for the best quality, for editing in FCP?



Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherri Nestico View Post

If the video files played fine on another machine, I would definitely think the problem is on your end. If these quicktime files are from a DSLR such as the Canon 5D Mark II, then they're huge and will take a lot of processing power to work with. Try a conversion program such as MPEG Streamclip to down-convert to a smaller standard-def file that the computer can handle.
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21st, 2010, 07:01 PM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Posts: 167
In MPEG Streamclip, I export to DV using the default settings. The only thing I change is the aspect ratio from 4:3 to 16:9. And select deinterlacing since I usually am not working with progressive clips. I normally use Premiere Pro, but I have used clips with these settings in FCP and they looked fine.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/TCPalmSherriNestico
Sherri Nestico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2010, 01:18 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 422
Thanks Sherri. Do you find that you have to render the audio?
Kell Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23rd, 2010, 08:57 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Port St. Lucie, FL
Posts: 167
I only had to render the video, not audio in FCP. In PPCS4, no rendering necessary.
__________________
Follow me on Facebook!
http://www.facebook.com/TCPalmSherriNestico
Sherri Nestico is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network