What hardware do I need for intensive video editing? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 4th, 2010, 12:38 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 187
What hardware do I need for intensive video editing?

I need some general info regarding how processor type and speed, type and amount of ram, and type and speed of hard drives affect video editing and exporting. What are the most important elements for efficient running of editing programs while edited HD footage? What matters most for increasing export speed?
Natan Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2010, 12:59 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 21
Chip speed will be the most important. Build your setup around a quad core.

Next up will be ram but it's a fairly distant second in my experience
Dan Passaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2010, 01:52 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 23
And to add to Dan's post, an big external hard drive to store it on or you'll bog your computer down pretty quick
Robert Muncie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 4th, 2010, 04:25 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 187
How does a single quad core versus double quad core compare?

Also, how important is hard drive speed for exporting?
Natan Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2010, 02:23 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 21
Don't know about the dual wield quad cores but hard drive speed doesn't factor into the export. More import is transfer speed (such as copying to a backup drive). eSata is faster than FireWire which is faster than USB 2.0.
Dan Passaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2010, 04:58 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 187
And what is a good RAID setup to use to maximize editing performance?
Natan Pakman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 5th, 2010, 05:39 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Miami, FL USA
Posts: 1,482
Generally, bigger and faster is better...but specifically, you should check the system requirements that each NLE maker provides for the particular program you may use. Adobe, for example, posts very narrowly drawn specs for the video cards, amount of RAM, operating system specs, etc for Premiere Pro versions. The latest, for example (CS5) is 64-bit only, needs one of several specific nVidia boards to use certain features, and a specific (large) amount of RAM. Final Cut has it's own specs (Intel mac, etc). So your question is too general -- figure out your editing software needs and then let the maker of that guide you to the specifics of the system...
Battle Vaughan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network