Would this system be ok? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 11th, 2010, 04:47 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 102
Would this system be ok?

I'm resigned to having to get a new system for use with Adobe CS4 but the budget is very tight. I'm working with AVCHD so would this do a half decent job?

I've got a 1.5TB drive I can add to it.

*EX DISPLAY* Zoostorm Advanced Premium Desktop PC.. | Ebuyer.com

Thanks.
__________________
Six out of seven dwarves are not Happy
Ray Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2010, 10:39 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 481
I think it might be a little of struggle editing AVCHD with that system. If you are doing basic editing with little layers you might be ok. If this is the system that you can afford, you might want to get the Neoscene, I think that's what's it called. It will take your AVCHD and transcode it to an intermediate format that will be high quality and easier to edit with that system. Good luck.
David Stoneburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11th, 2010, 10:47 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 102
Thanks David, I'm beginning to think I should be going towards an i5. Have to save some more pennies. :)
__________________
Six out of seven dwarves are not Happy
Ray Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 07:32 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Posts: 277
You could just transcode to Cineform or another intermediate codec, no need for a monster PC.
Bryan Cantwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 08:55 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 102
Won't I lose resolution that way?
__________________
Six out of seven dwarves are not Happy
Ray Barber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 12:33 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 481
No there would be no quality loss that I know of, just time and more hard drive space. Cineform is the intermediate codec that PPro 1.5 was using to do HD editing.
David Stoneburner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13th, 2010, 01:24 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 102
Thanks, I'll take a look.
__________________
Six out of seven dwarves are not Happy
Ray Barber is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network