Recording simultaneously with several camcorders, How? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 28th, 2005, 06:50 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 64
Recording simultaneously with several camcorders, How?

Hi.

Just wondering, i know its do-able but how?

What software is used to simultaneously record from severval canon cams? (same models)

Thanks,
Gavin Thomas
Gavin Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 28th, 2005, 06:30 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
You can record each cam indivudally and then sync in post.

There are some expensive solutions out there that may allow you to record several inputs at once (I think)... they can be useful in particular multi-camera situations
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 02:09 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 479
If your production is well under an hour and you don't mind wasting a bit of tape, you could get all your cameras together (you said they're the same brand?) and use the remote to start them all at once. They should all start pretty close to the same time. Then set up the cameras and go hard.

One way to make for easier synchronization that I thought of (but haven't tried out yet) is using a flash to sync the cameras in post. Just get the cameras relatively near each other, point them at someting that can create a very quick (1 frame) flash like a photo camera and flash it. Don't stop recording. It would be a good idea to do it again after the shoot, just in case. Once you go to edit, you simply set the start point of all your cameras to the frame where the flash is going off.

Haven't tried it but I'm sure it would work.
__________________
Mark Utley
Mark Utley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 07:02 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
Yeah, the flash frame does work. You don't even need to put the cameras together, because you should be able to distinctly see the flash from all angles.

Theoretically you might miss it if you have a high shutter...?

Anyways, syncing isn't too hard. You'll be able to find out sync points anyways (i.e. b's or p's in dialogue when they just open the mouth, objects hitting).
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 30th, 2005, 07:38 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Clermont, FL.
Posts: 941
Multicam shoots are a whole lot easier to sync up if the cameras have (and are using) timecode.
Laurence Kingston is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:06 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network