Video editing platform question - Page 2 at

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 31st, 2006, 09:53 PM   #16
New Boot
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by James Chapman
Hey! Get an apple. Actually get a MacBook Pro and spend a little on the upgrade from your version of FCP and there ya go.
Except Shake doesn't run on the MacBook Pro, so he'll lose his investment until it's ported to UB.
Al Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2006, 12:20 AM   #17
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 40
Originally Posted by Al Wilson
...I'm just trying to make sense of your post. Are you are saying that you have close to $4000 dollars worth of software and no computer? I've never met anyone who had invested so much into high-end software that didn't own a computer, nor know what type of computer to buy. Apple Shake retails for the price of a nice G5 at around $3000, so you can understand why I find your question out of the ordinary. You would have been better off spending the 3 grand on a G5 and using iMovie! ...You are already invested in software and your wondering about what computer and editing solution to buy? No offense, but it doesn't make sense.

Another question... why do you need Shake to edit documentaries?

To tell you the truth someone gave the software to me.
William Dortignac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 1st, 2006, 02:18 AM   #18
Inner Circle
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 2,053

Back in the "old days" the proper way to buy a system was to find the software that provided the tools you needed to get the job done, then buy the computer that ran the software.

If you already have the software, and I'm assuming that they're fully legal copies, then get the platform that runs it.

You can't go wrong with FCP. And you certainly should update or upgrade it to the latest version.

If you're going to run Shake you'll need to get a system with enough horsepower to make it perform its magic with the least amount of delay. Check out what the basic requirements are to run Shake, and maybe Motion, and base your purchase on those guidelines.

For me: I run FCP on a dual 2.5 GHz G5 with 4 gigs of RAM, a 500-GB RAID, a 23-inch Cinema display and a Blackmagic Decklink SP card. Our company, consisting of three co-owners (a host/cameraman and two cameramen/editors), creates 26 one-hour shows a year.
Dean Sensui
Exec Producer, Hawaii Goes Fishing
Dean Sensui is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:16 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network