avi file in Quicktime Pro on PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 15th, 2006, 09:42 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Addison (Dallas) Texas
Posts: 88
avi file in Quicktime Pro on PC

When I bring an avi file (captured from camera or generated in editor) into Quicktime Pro (on a PC) I get lots of artifacts and pixelating. This is happening on my two current PCs, but my recollection is that this did not happen on my old PC (which I no longer have). As a matter for fact, I have some mov files I created on the old PC using QT Pro that look fine.

What am I doing wrong? I recall something in the past about needing to download the "authoring" opting with QT, but I don't recall seeing that when I installed QT Pro on my new PCs. Do I need a special codec?

Current PC configuration:
Dell Workstation 380
Windows XP Pro
Two 3.4 GHz dual core Pentium D
4 GB RAM
500GB SATA harddrive
Primary editor: Vegas 6d
Primary avi capture sw: Scenalyzer
Quicktime Pro version 7.1

Regards,
Buddy
Buddy Frazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2006, 11:46 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 30
"When I bring an avi file (captured from camera or generated in editor) into Quicktime Pro (on a PC) I get lots of artifacts and pixelating."

This happens to me when I open a DV avi in QT. However, there's nothing wrong with the file, it's just that QT isn't displaying it right for some reason. If I export the avi, the exported file looks fine. Unless you use QT as a viewer, I wouldn't worry about it.

BTW, I think it has to do with the DV codec, if I open an avi with a different codec, it looks normal. I don't know why this is, but either way, the exported files are fine.
Colton Davie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2006, 12:01 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,750
In Quicktime Player, you'd need to enable the high quality mode.

Its under the Crtl + J menu somewhere.
Glenn Chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 15th, 2006, 02:07 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Addison (Dallas) Texas
Posts: 88
Glenn,
Thank you. That works. High Quality can even be set in preferences, so all files are displayed that way.
Buddy

Last edited by Buddy Frazer; August 16th, 2006 at 09:27 AM.
Buddy Frazer is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network