Will I need to re-install XP Pro? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2007, 07:21 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 513
Will I need to re-install XP Pro?

Hi,

I'm looking to upgrade my Dual Opteron 246 CPU's for a set of Opteron 275 Dual Core CPU's.

I'm currently running Windows XP Pro and was wondering if I will have to reinstall Windows XP Pro because I will now have 4 processors?

Thanks,

Jim
James Huenergardt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2007, 11:26 AM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 19
James,
About a year ago, I upgraded to a dual core. My bios didn't yet recognize the 2 processors and my XP thought I only had one. When I upgraded the bios to recognize it, XP complained on bootup and I had to re-register my copy of XP. (I had to call to get a new registration #).

I'd try to upgrade without reinstalling first, and see what happens.

Hope this helps!
Tim P.
Tim Painter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 02:47 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 135
Hi! I have a Dual Opteron 280, planning to add another 280. Im checking the issues of XP and Adobe Production Suite recognizing the 4 cores, and the question of RAM.

I have a Tyan Thunder K8WE S2895 with 2 GB, I will add 2 more when i make the core step (the userguide of the Tyan says that the memory must be equal for both cores).

So i would appreciate any news or experience you have with your upgrade.

Thanks and good luck!!

H
Hernan Vilchez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2007, 10:12 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Shenzhen, China
Posts: 781
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hernan Vilchez
Hi! I have a Dual Opteron 280, planning to add another 280. Im checking the issues of XP and Adobe Production Suite recognizing the 4 cores, and the question of RAM.

I have a Tyan Thunder K8WE S2895 with 2 GB, I will add 2 more when i make the core step (the userguide of the Tyan says that the memory must be equal for both cores).

So i would appreciate any news or experience you have with your upgrade.

Thanks and good luck!!

H
This (S2895) is what I have too. I've found it to be one of the most stable systems ever.

Personally I believe in backing up, wiping everything out and starting over when upgrading. Its the only way to be truly sure. Yes, you may have to go through some difficulties in getting the drivers right. Just make sure you have another working system to access the internet and download drivers as needed.
__________________
Richard Andrewski - Cool Lights USA - RED #114
http://www.coollights.biz
Richard Andrewski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2007, 05:16 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 135
Of course Richard, i will back up all (as i always do, i learnt to be paranoid with computers), and rely on my laptop to download drivers (read faqs and get support!).

Anyway it would be very useful to all of us to learn of someone´s upgrade experience of this setup (Dual Opteron + Tyan S2895) to Quad Opteron + RAM with XP, NLE, compositing, transcoding and authoring software.

So i hope that the first of us that take this step, will post a thread describing his experience and results.

Greetz, have a nice day

Hernan
Hernan Vilchez is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network