anxious over final product at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 12th, 2002, 07:36 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Troy Ny
Posts: 60
anxious over final product

i use a macintosh g4 and capture my dv info with final cut pro, adding cuts and slight color correction, render then export through the onboard 1394 port back to the same camera that captured the video originally.
am i losing image quality somewhere along these lines?
Chet Hardin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2002, 07:51 PM   #2
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 23
No. That's the beauty of dv.
Gayle Bryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2002, 08:57 PM   #3
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
Not one bit...literally. Have a ball.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2002, 10:42 AM   #4
_redone_
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 224
dv

Thats the same process im trying to achive with my pc..

are you having anytrouble with this..
becuase I am outputting video back to the camera and getting
a clean picture..but i get some jumps and skips every so 5 seconds..

what kind of camera are you using?
are you getting good footage back without any problems???
Adam Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2002, 10:54 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Troy Ny
Posts: 60
pc's

actually, i was questioning the process because i have read that, even though dv is suppose to produce a lossless project (that is the word on the street) there is some loss in quality and the appearance of artifacts.

as for the bumpy video output, what sort of machine do you? what sort of processor and how much ram?
Chet Hardin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2002, 12:02 PM   #6
_redone_
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 224
dv

well...

i have a 1.6 ghz AMD
256 mgs of ram

I wonder if it has anything to do with the 16:9 mode and frame mode/
becuase i dont rescale the vid or nothing i just capture 16:9
do some touch ups in post and then output back without scaling the
video down.

Im not sure but i know my machine should be fast enough to do this proceedure
Adam Lawrence is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network