Camera Specs at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 7th, 2003, 07:55 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2
Camera Specs

I'm looking for a camera that will sometimes see duty shooting footage off Computer Monitors. What specifications should I be concerned with when reviewing potential cameras?
Ken Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2003, 08:01 PM   #2
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,542
Some cameras have a special feature for this, however depending on what you're doing you might also consider shooting an LCD screen instead. They're getting pretty affordable these days, or you could even film a laptop. LCD's don't scan/refresh like CRT's so there are no problems filming them.

Scott Billups suggested this as a (relatively) inexpensive way to transfer your video to film by renting a high quality plasma screen and 16mm or 35mm camera. Anybody around here ever try that?
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2003, 08:10 PM   #3
High School Student
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Canton, Ohio, USA
Posts: 609
Any camera with a 1/60 shutter speed can shoot computer monitors good enough, as long as the monitor refresh rate is at 60Hz...but LCD's are the way to go.
Alex Knappenberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2003, 09:48 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Both the XL1 and the GL2 have a feature called clear scan, which allows you to shoot computers monitors without getting the scan lines. The feature is adjustable through a wide range to allow for various refresh rates.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2003, 10:54 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Vancouver, British Columbia
Posts: 8,308
Adrian, the Clear Scan is only on the XL1s, not the XL1, isn't it?
__________________
Need to rent camera gear in Vancouver BC?
Check me out at camerarentalsvancouver.com
Dylan Couper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2003, 09:10 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
Yeah Dylan, only the XL1s and GL2, my mistake.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2003, 10:24 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tavares Fla
Posts: 541
In trying some experimenting with my computer I decided to enable tv out on my computer and input it directly into the camera via the audio video inputs. It was a nascar driving game and I wanted to see if I could create a cartoon style television show by computer and get it back to DV with high quality. By doing this there are no artifacts from camera angles, camera movement, or sync lines and it replays beautifully. I used my TV to set it up and make sure the aspect was right, then I used the s-video and rca audio into my XL1S. It came out perfect. It could have easily created the show.
Don Parrish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2003, 10:36 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Saitama, Japan
Posts: 111
The Panasonic DVX100 can do it.
Akos Szemenyei is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2003, 06:07 PM   #9
Tourist
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Iowa
Posts: 2
Thanks for all of the replies. Does anyone know if it's possible to take the crt (vga) ouput from a computer and get an adapter cable that will go to rca jacks?
Ken Sherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2003, 12:52 AM   #10
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Chigasaki, Japan.
Posts: 1,660
It can be done. I got an adapter to to exactly that with my Matrox G400. Actually it has both s-video and composite. Don't know if they are available from other places though.
Adrian Douglas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2003, 03:20 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Belgium
Posts: 804
Don, you are right on the potential artifacts with screenshoots, but remember that computer images have progressive scan and your TV-out is interlaced. Mostly this conversion (prog>interlace) is done by simple field repetition which results in halved vertical resolution and "stairstepping" on slightly angled horizontal lines.
Andre De Clercq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2003, 08:19 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Tavares Fla
Posts: 541
Andre, although I didn't go over it with a fine tooth comb everything looked in place. It was far better than shooting from the screen. I use a visontek TI 4200, and so far it has done a great job. I also ran it through vegas:)
Don Parrish is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network