Which NLE uses Quad-core PC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 13th, 2007, 05:30 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 393
Which NLE uses Quad-core PC

Does any of the current line of NLEs (premiere, edius, avid, vegas, etc) take advantage of the new quad-core CPUs from intel or amd?
Dwight Flynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 16th, 2007, 04:59 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Naperville, IL
Posts: 26
Dwight,

Vegas 7 uses multiple cores nicely. I was most recently using it on a Dual Dual Core Xeon (4 cores total) and renders to MPEG2 from DV .avi or Newtek's NT25 .avi codec were lickety-split - almost down to real time. I would guess it was about 15 - 20 % longer than real time. Much better than any other system I've used with Vegas.

I would guess that it would be just as happy with a single Quad CPU as it was with my dual dual core CPU setup as long as Windows sees 4 CPUs.
__________________
David Sheneman
Rockford, IL
David Sheneman is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Adorama
(800) 223-2500
New York, NY

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Texas Media Systems
(512) 440-1400
Austin, TX

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

VideoGuys
(800) 323-2325
Mineola, NY

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:10 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2018 The Digital Video Information Network