Capture Settings ? Another question :-) at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Open DV Discussion
For topics which don't fit into any of the other categories.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 14th, 2007, 07:06 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Rosemary Beach, Florida
Posts: 199
Capture Settings ? Another question :-)

OK, I'm new at this. Yes, I searched and searched for the answer. Couldn't find one. I guess this is kind of easy for most of you.

Isn't it true that I want to capture from my GL2 to my hard drive at the best possible resolution? So, I put my settings at 720x480 and the 50 minute DV tape turned out being 11 gig in size. Is that normal?? Is that what I want to do?

I am given a 320x240 choice which is the "default for storing and editing on the computer", but isn't that kind of low for a quality project??

See my confusion?? I'd appreciate some help ...
Thanks, Tom B.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

EDIT: (two hours later)
I've just discovered something else that I can not understand. After I recaptured the 50 minute DV tape in the 320x240 size and it was put into files and clips, I took a look at the clips and they are all 720x480........ I couldn't believe it..... what's going on??? :-)

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Second EDIT: (next day)
Well, this must be a tougher question that I thought or maybe it just plain wierd??
When I captured in the 320x240 size, the finial file was only 2 gig..... Some difference... 11 gig to 2 gig. Why such a BIG difference??

Last edited by Tom Blizzard; July 15th, 2007 at 01:45 PM. Reason: Additional discovery.....
Tom Blizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2007, 01:25 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Rosemary Beach, Florida
Posts: 199
OK... guess that wasn't a very good question, so how about this question.

My small Canon Digital camera takes video at 640X480. My Canon GL2 takes video at 520 lines... Does that mean the small camera will have a higher resolution video??
Tom Blizzard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 18th, 2007, 08:00 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: West Rosemary Beach, Florida
Posts: 199
Hey dude.... :-)
Here's your answer... http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...nes+resolution
Tom Blizzard is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Open DV Discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:09 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network