Final Cut Express with HMC-150 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders
AVCHD for pro applications: AG-AC160, AC130 and other AVCCAM gear.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 20th, 2009, 08:34 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio and SLC, Utah
Posts: 69
Final Cut Express with HMC-150

I am looking to upgrade my camera but I am not ready to make the jump to Final Cut Pro - or at least my wallet isn't ready and I am wondering if Final Cut Express can log and capture files from HMC-150 or if I will need the Pro Version.

I use Final Cut Express for my HF10 and it works great but I am not sure if it would work for the HMC-150.

Thanks
Mike
Mike Brice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20th, 2009, 09:48 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio and SLC, Utah
Posts: 69
Anybody have any idea?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Brice View Post
I am looking to upgrade my camera but I am not ready to make the jump to Final Cut Pro - or at least my wallet isn't ready and I am wondering if Final Cut Express can log and capture files from HMC-150 or if I will need the Pro Version.

I use Final Cut Express for my HF10 and it works great but I am not sure if it would work for the HMC-150.

Thanks
Mike
Mike Brice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 05:44 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: beijing/mississauga
Posts: 123
FCE4 appears to support AVCHD so you should be good.
Colin Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 07:33 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Stockholm Sweden
Posts: 184
I donīt think FCE supports 720P 50/60
__________________
Remember, that English is my second language.
Hans Ledel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 21st, 2009, 07:53 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio and SLC, Utah
Posts: 69
Anyone with this camera that has tried it on FCE?

Just looking for some first hand confirmation.

Thanks
Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans Ledel View Post
I donīt think FCE supports 720P 50/60
Mike Brice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26th, 2009, 12:46 PM   #6
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 22
Pretty sure it will transcode to Apple AIC codec.
Large files, quality hit and processing time.

Use Toast 9 to transcode (convert) the mpeg4 files to whatever QT format you want.
Johnny Clark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2009, 09:46 PM   #7
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Matthews, NC
Posts: 1
Mike, I am using the 150 with latest version of FCE and it is working fine, there are some do's and don'ts that I have learned from approx 4 video projects that I have shot with the camera and edited.

Yes you can shoot with 720p 60 (not 30) and you have to use the HDV 720p AIC for ingesting. The biggest problem I have had is ingesting from the camera, this is a problem, so I purchased an inexpensive SD card reader and popped the SD card in it and then connected it directly to the Mac, with no camera in use. So far this has worked very well.

I am using an iMac with about 2GB of RAM.

Good Luck

Don
Home

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Brice View Post
Anyone with this camera that has tried it on FCE?

Just looking for some first hand confirmation.

Thanks
Mike
Don Hambridge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2009, 05:25 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toledo, Ohio and SLC, Utah
Posts: 69
Thanks!

Appreciate the first hand experience.

Unfortunately, that means my wallet may be hurting a bit.

Mike

Quote:
Originally Posted by Don Hambridge View Post
Mike, I am using the 150 with latest version of FCE and it is working fine, there are some do's and don'ts that I have learned from approx 4 video projects that I have shot with the camera and edited.

Yes you can shoot with 720p 60 (not 30) and you have to use the HDV 720p AIC for ingesting. The biggest problem I have had is ingesting from the camera, this is a problem, so I purchased an inexpensive SD card reader and popped the SD card in it and then connected it directly to the Mac, with no camera in use. So far this has worked very well.

I am using an iMac with about 2GB of RAM.

Good Luck

Don
Home
Mike Brice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 2nd, 2009, 12:30 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5
I cant get the 720p 50 (HMC151 pal) material imported to FCE. Same problem?
Jens East is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2009, 10:48 AM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 80
how smooth is final cut express 4 on the timeline with the hmc150? i have found shooting 720p looks great on this camera...

Last edited by Matthew Harris; February 28th, 2009 at 10:11 PM.
Matthew Harris is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:04 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network