HMC 150 and 30P at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders
AVCHD for pro applications: AG-AC160, AC130 and other AVCCAM gear.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old July 25th, 2009, 11:58 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Warren, Pa
Posts: 785
HMC 150 and 30P

Does the HMC 150 record 1080 in 30P mode?

I see it says over 60i, and I am not sure what that means.
__________________
2 Canon XF305's
Kyser Photography www.kyserphoto.com
Denny Kyser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 26th, 2009, 11:35 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Warren, Pa
Posts: 785
Can someone explain what this means "1080/30p (over 60i)"

I am considering this camera, but need it to shoot 1080 30P and mix on a timeline with my EX1 and HV30
__________________
2 Canon XF305's
Kyser Photography www.kyserphoto.com
Denny Kyser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 04:21 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 497
Not sure what it means either but I have the HMC-150 and shoot in 30p (1080) and it works great.

Simon
Simon Zimmer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 27th, 2009, 10:53 PM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Each frame is captured as a progressive image but then split into fields before it is recorded to the card as a 60i stream. When the footage is de-interlaced by your TV or in your NLE it plays back exactly the same as if it was recorded 30p.
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 28th, 2009, 12:10 PM   #5
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Progressive footage should never be de-interlaced. De-interlacing progressive footage really just means that you're throwing away half your resolution.

NLEs will recognize the "progressive" flag and will be able to use the footage exactly as if it had been recorded in a progressive data stream in the first place. In other words, if it's shot 30p "over 60i", then the NLE will know exactly what to do with it and will treat it as 30p, as you intended.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 08:16 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Byron Bay, Australia
Posts: 1,142
Barry, can you please explain how de-interlacing throws away half your resolution? I was under the impression that when you de-interlace, then both the fields are displayed at the same time. Temporal resolution would be decreased but spatial resolution would be higher, wouldn't it? Or does de-interlacing simply mean the NLE only plays the 'a' fields and ignores all the 'b' fields?
John Wiley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 10:36 AM   #7
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Pretty much yes -- it ignores one field and duplicates the other to fill in the gaps.

Or, if you're using an advanced de-interlacing technique such as blended fields, it'll try to synthesize a new field by blending the "A" and "B" fields together.

In any case, you DON'T want that to happen to your progressive footage. Progressive footage has full information detail in each field and that should be preserved as-is.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29th, 2009, 11:02 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,666
I don't think that "1080/30p (over 60i)" has the full information in each field.

Each field more likely has half the information, so that you need to combine the two fields to restore full resolution, at 30 frames per second.

But that's speculation - I'm open to be corrected.
Graham Hickling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 31st, 2009, 10:34 AM   #9
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
You are correct, that's exactly how it works, and that's exactly why you wouldn't want to "de-interlace". De-interlacing would destroy the valid information in one or the other field.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2009, 07:45 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 40
Basically the footage will play back properly on a 60i timeline, just make sure you don't apply any deinterlacing processing to the clip. (i.e. deinterlace method: interpolate, blend, none. choose "none")
Jeremy Dallek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2009, 08:30 PM   #11
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Yes, but there's another complication which is that if you use rendered graphics or titles on a 60i timeline, but you were using 30p footage, the graphics will be split across the fields.

Whereas if you use a 30p timeline, the graphics will be rendered as 30p, frame for frame.

So if you're using 30p footage, it's usually best to use a 30p timeline to edit it.
Barry Green is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:01 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network