Any options for servo? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders
AVCHD for pro applications: AG-AC160, AC130 and other AVCCAM gear.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 7th, 2011, 03:31 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 388
Any options for servo?

Looking at this AF100, are there any options out there for a servo zoom?

Preferably either with sensitivity adjustment or pressure sensitive? I haven't found any yet and curious if there were any out there....
Justin Molush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2011, 08:44 PM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
No, the AF100 was not designed as an ENG camera with servo zoom.
__________________
David W. Jones
www.joneshdfilms.com
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 8th, 2011, 11:50 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 388
Ah man, bummer. I'm in love with the thing but the problem is the investor (friend/business partner) requires it have a servo and it fall in line more with a broadcast/ENG camera in that regard. This thing would be perfect if it had one.

Im a prime lover when shooting, but Im also not the one shelling out the cash.
Justin Molush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 05:21 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Kelowna, BC [Canada, Eh!]
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin Molush View Post
Ah man, bummer. I'm in love with the thing but the problem is the investor (friend/business partner) requires it have a servo and it fall in line more with a broadcast/ENG camera in that regard. This thing would be perfect if it had one.

Im a prime lover when shooting, but Im also not the one shelling out the cash.
What's the intended purpose for the camera?
Denny Lajeunesse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 9th, 2011, 05:55 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
I shoot TV commercials with mine.
I think if it were intended for ENG use it would of had a servo zoom.
__________________
David W. Jones
www.joneshdfilms.com
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2011, 02:17 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 388
Yeah, we ended up purchasing an HM700U due to its similar price point and after talking with someone who handles one on a frequent basis.

For my purposes I would use it for video editing only, but it will be used for live TV productions as well and servo is something that was needed. Now to go over to the JVC forum...
Justin Molush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 03:17 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 4,120
You could check this:

Using 2/3″ Lenses on the Panasonic AF100 | CineTechnica
Brian Drysdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 04:24 AM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Yes, I saw that yesterday. They are using a M4/3 to PL adapter, then the optical doubler for the phantom.
__________________
David W. Jones
www.joneshdfilms.com
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 05:05 AM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Cheshire, CT
Posts: 110
Any idea of an approximate $ range of what that kit would add to the AF100 price?
James Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 05:47 AM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 4,120
Here's the link:

HDx2 B4/PL Optical Adapter :: Specialty Optics :: Lenses & Lens Accessories :: Equipment Sales :: Abel Cine Tech

Not cheap, but neither are the 2/3" lenses.
Brian Drysdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 06:34 AM   #11
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Drysdale
Not cheap, but neither are the 2/3" lenses.
Once you start paying that sort of money - $5,500 for the adaptor, plus the 2/3" lens! - it makes far more sense to just get an F3 in the first place, if a large sensor is essential. I believe it has a zoom rocker, and dedicated zooms are due to follow.

It's worth pointing out that the adaptor you link to will effectively make the lens at least 2 stops slower than when used on a 2/3" camera.
David Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 06:39 AM   #12
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Little Rock
Posts: 1,383
Might make more sense to use a M4/3 to B3 adapter, and engage the doubler on the zoom to cover the sensor. And then make your own power cable.
__________________
David W. Jones
www.joneshdfilms.com
David W. Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 09:46 AM   #13
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 4,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Heath View Post
It's worth pointing out that the adaptor you link to will effectively make the lens at least 2 stops slower than when used on a 2/3" camera.
Yes, always a factor with these mods.I suspect it's probably only really worth while if you need the zoom range on a production .
Brian Drysdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 01:26 PM   #14
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Drysdale View Post
I suspect it's probably only really worth while if you need the zoom range on a production
It also just occurs to me that the same physics which means it will be 2 stops down also means you won't be gaining any depth of field advantage, compared to using the lens on a 2/3" camera!

If when used on a 2/3" camera a lens has a max aperture of f2, then on a 4/3 camera, wide open, it will effectively be f4 - and that is true for both sensitivity and depth of field issues. Since the USP of all the large format sensor cameras is shallow dof, you'd be far better off just using the lens on a 2/3" camera as designed for! The dof will be identical in that case to used on a 4/3 camera with the adaptor.
David Heath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2011, 03:35 PM   #15
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 4,120
Yes, although the change in focal length may go part of the way counter that effect, Unfortunately none of the DOF calculators cover 4/3, but I suspect there's not a huge difference.

In practical terms it would be used when needing a lightweight, large zoom range lens. Not really the main lens, but something that can be used for shots that require this facility.
Brian Drysdale is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:20 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network