Using an HC-X900M with an AG-AC-130 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders
AVCHD for pro applications: AG-AC160, AC130 and other AVCCAM gear.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 8th, 2012, 06:54 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kingsburg, California
Posts: 84
Using an HC-X900M with an AG-AC-130

Technical question for the Panny experts:

I was just given (yes, GIVEN - pretty cool, huh?) a brand new HC-X900M, which I would love to use as a backup/static camera on wedding shoots; and other shoots for that matter. I normally shoot in 1080/30fps
with my AG-AC-130. It appears to me that the X900 can only shoot in 60fps. So my question is, what's the best way to use footage from both of these cameras together? Do I convert the X900 footage in post, or shoot in 60fps on the AC-130? (Editing in FCP 7, transcoding to ProRes, btw...) Obviously I am not familiar with converting frame rates so I am asking a rookie question here about matching up footage in post. Your help is appreciated!!


Ben
__________________
“Get a good idea, and stay with it. Dog it, and work at it until it’s done, and done right.” – Walt Disney
Ben Creighton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2012, 09:50 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 604
Re: Using an HC-X900M with an AG-AC-130

Hi Ben,

How easy is it to get the HC-X900M 60P material into FCP 7?
Alastair Traill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2012, 01:20 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Kingsburg, California
Posts: 84
Re: Using an HC-X900M with an AG-AC-130

"How easy is it to get the HC-X900M 60P material into FCP 7?"

Quite simple using log and transfer within FCP7 (Apple ProRes 422 Codec)
__________________
“Get a good idea, and stay with it. Dog it, and work at it until it’s done, and done right.” – Walt Disney
Ben Creighton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 13th, 2012, 05:03 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Re: Using an HC-X900M with an AG-AC-130

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben Creighton View Post
Technical question for the Panny experts:

It appears to me that the X900 can only shoot in 60fps.
The X900 shoots in


1080 / 60p (28Mbps / VBR), (1920 x 1080)
HA (17Mbps / VBR), (1920 x 1080)
HG (13Mbps / VBR), (1920 x 1080)
HX (9Mbps / VBR), (1920 x 1080)
HE (5Mbps / VBR), (1920 x 1080)
iFrame (28Mbps / VBR), (960 x 540)
AVCHD 3D (28Mbps / VBR), (1920 x 1080)
SbS (17Mbps / VBR), (1920 x 1080)
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 14th, 2012, 10:31 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 553
Re: Using an HC-X900M with an AG-AC-130

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colin Rowe View Post
iFrame (28Mbps / VBR), (960 x 540)
If you are delivering on DVD then iFrame is 30p and may actually be the most convenient.
Eric Olson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic AVCCAM Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:36 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network