GS100 default battery at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant > Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant

Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant
...and other Panasonic DV camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 20th, 2003, 07:10 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 175
GS100 default battery

Playing with the cam I figured the supplied battery is really weak - hardly for about half hour (though 'm playing between various modes rather then just plain video shooting). Also, the battery indicator doesn't show it is low while the camera suddenly shuts down (persumably due to battery exhausted) and I have to recharge it back. I woudl expect at least battery indicator on LCD would show it is going low prior to camera's self-shut-down.

Is that normal ?

It seem long-lasting one is a must.

Alex
Alex Zabrovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2003, 11:40 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 163
My battery icon in the LCD has 4 bars going across it. When three are gone the battery is about to go quick. Yes, the supplied battery is short on life. That is why I took Allan's advice and purchased the next size up. Just a bit of information that I am sure you probably know but just in case, There is a adapter that hooks up to the charger and camera that lets you run your camera on the A/C outlet. It will save your battery life and you can play around with the camera a bit longer. At least while you are by a plug.
Paul Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2003, 12:59 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 175
So Paul did you purchase the one available in US for GS70 or an original GS100-intended from Japan ?
How long it runs ?

What batteries are available for GS100 (including waist one) ?

Alex
Alex Zabrovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2003, 02:16 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 163
I got the original when I got my cam from Allan
Paul Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2003, 02:21 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 175
besides of regular one the cam come equipped with, right ?

I guess I'll have to go a battery route prior to any other camera-related purchases (probably except of bag and firewire things).

Alex
Alex Zabrovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2003, 02:24 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 163
Yes, other than the one that came with it.
Paul Jason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2003, 02:59 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 210
Alex,
Some people here, including me, bought the same battery
cga-du21(GS70 battery, which also fits for gs100) from one guy from ebay. Its working wonderful for me.
You can look at our previous discussions here!

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthrea...threadid=13238

If this link doesnt work then go to GS100 accessories list thread.
Samuel Raj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 20th, 2003, 03:09 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 175
Thanks, will check this option (link didn't work - will look further in the thread you mentioned.

BTW, does the cam has some kind of power save mode where it will shut down the cam if no operation was performed during specific time period ?

It seems to is happening in my case. The cam switches off every other 5-7 minutes while the battery still showing full. I switch On again and it repeats over. (if no operation was initilized during last several minutes.

Alex
Alex Zabrovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2003, 12:18 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Yokohama, Japan
Posts: 366
Alex GS100 use same batteries as GS10 (Europe) GS50, GS70 - smaller size than older series eg. MX5000.

As I noted in other post power save function doesn't save only your power but also your poor tape which is in contact with the heads while in standby. I think it's 5 minitus.

I was frustraited for the power save activating even using the AC adaptor but it's better then ruining your tape.
Bogdan Vaglarov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2003, 03:54 AM   #10
Outer Circle
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Hope, BC
Posts: 7,527
Standby is 5 minutes? What's the complaint? My JVCs shut down after 2 minutes! So I got to work fast with those menus, otherwise I'll have to start all over again! My VCRs also shut-down after 2 minutes. :(
Frank Granovski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2003, 05:02 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 175
Frank, no compliants. :-)
I was just confused by that feature. I do not remember noticing one in the translated documentation (did I miss it somewhere ?), but the cam was switching accidently while the battery level on LCD still showed full. I was frustrated a bit thinking the defualt battery that comes with the cam is so weak that even fully charged it is going flat within 10-15 minutes, so put it in recharge every time the cam has switched itself off.
However, one time I just switched teh cam ON immediately upon it went to Off and revealed battery level still on Full - that raised the idea of some kind if power save mode rather then battery exhausting ! Now battery life seems to be much more reasonable
(still going 3/4 of capacity after about 10 minutes of recording intemittent and lots of playing with settings and features.

Thanks for your response, Alex
Alex Zabrovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2003, 07:01 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 453
There's a quick start mode which reactivates the cam much more quickly, but it means the battery is in use the whole time. I just ran my waist battery down over a six-hour period - shot not quite three hours of tape over that period and kept the cam in quick start mode in between shots.
Patricia Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2003, 01:21 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 175
Thanks Patricia, can you please elaborate that Quick Start button functioanility ?

Alex
Alex Zabrovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2003, 03:17 PM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Posts: 453
Best explanation is page 29 of the GS70 manual, with follow-on notes on p. 86.
Patricia Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 21st, 2003, 06:36 PM   #15
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Hoboken, NJ. USA
Posts: 26
New batteries...

Here's a few places you can get replacements and/or upgraded batteries...

http://www.battery-pro.net/camcorder.../vw-vbd140.htm

also (from apparently the same people...)

http://www.batteries-depot.com/camco...-vw-vbd140.htm

or even these guys.

http://www.powersmarthk.com/mamodel....rand=PANASONIC
__________________
-Craig
Donald Craig Forbes is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant > Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network