how to get DVCPRO50 into a computer? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant > Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant

Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant
...and other Panasonic DV camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 24th, 2003, 02:14 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: US & THEM
Posts: 827
how to get DVCPRO50 into a computer?

what interface card do I need to I/O DVCPRO50 ?
__________________
John Jay

Beware ***PLUGGER-BYTES***
John Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27th, 2003, 08:24 AM   #2
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
You need a Panasonic DVCPRO 50 deck first, obviously, and then a NLE that has an SDI card. If you're using something like a low end Avid XDV, you can get the new Mojo box that will let you do that. I don't know if you can just stick an SDI card in any computer. Best bet is to call up tech support on whatever system you're using. Or call somebody at Panasonic.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2003, 09:53 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: US & THEM
Posts: 827
Bill

thx, since my post I found out than Pana have a 50M/s 1394 card which plugs into their pro decks (c.1500)

so its business as usual provided I rent a 1394 enabled deck
__________________
John Jay

Beware ***PLUGGER-BYTES***
John Jay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2003, 10:11 AM   #4
Contributor
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kansas City, MO
Posts: 4,449
So their deck will shoot DV50 over firewire now? That's cool. Didn't know that. But dont' most firewire NLE systems only take in DV25 via firewire? Maybe there's something new there too. My only experience is with Avid, and I believe I've seen something about firewire on new Media Composers but I don't know for sure about that.
Bill Pryor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 29th, 2003, 10:23 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: US & THEM
Posts: 827
heres the link

http://www.panasonic.com/PBDS/subcat/newsinfo/press_03/03_20.html


i guess it just needs a dv50 codec and choks away!!!
__________________
John Jay

Beware ***PLUGGER-BYTES***
John Jay is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant > Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:16 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network