DV53 not detected at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant > Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant

Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant
...and other Panasonic DV camcorders.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 2nd, 2004, 12:50 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 166
DV53 not detected

I lent a friend my DV53 to capture some footage. He called me up saying the camera isn't being detected by the computer. He's running Windows XP Pro on a Sony Viao. He's using premier (I'm not sure which verson) to capture, but it sounds like his problem is with the operating system.

Anyone have any ideas as to why the computer won't detect the camera? He says he did everything the instructions said, and tried a different firewire cable.

Thanks
Deniz Turkmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 06:06 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
The first question is how does it know it is not being detected?
Windows XP will 9 out of 10 times not inform you it has "detected"
a camera. Did he try capturing with Premiere?

Keep in mind that old versions of Premiere (below 6 I think) do
*NOT* support capturing from firewire camera's!!

So answer to the first question above together with his version
of Premiere and capture settings used should yield some more
information on this "issue".
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 06:32 AM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
Has he ever been able to use firewire out on his DV53, perhaps on another PC?

Have you verified in Device Manager that the camcorder is loaded and without errors?
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 08:36 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 166
He said that he's using Premier 6.5 and it won't detect the camera. As far as he knows, device manager isn't even showing the camera. He also used DvGate and Windows Moviemaker, neither of them picked up the camera.
Deniz Turkmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2004, 09:03 AM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
The first thing is getting Windows to detect the cam before any editing package will. Have you tried another PC?

Are there any DV In/Out settings in the menu of the DV53?
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 10:09 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 166
I took the camera back from my friend and tried using it on my computer running windows 98se along with a different firewire cable. Still no luck. The camera has no dv in/out menu.

I also hooked my dvx100a, and it wasen't detected either. Then I plugged in my bi-direction converter through the firewire and the computer detected it no problem. However when I plugged the firewire from the camera into the converter, it wasen't picking it up. I'm wondering if the cable I have is no good.

There's also another wierd thing I've notived. I'm using a Pyro 1394 DV capture card. It has to two slots to hook up a firewire cable. If I plug something into the right slot, it works normally (except for the camera of course). If I plug something into the left slot, my computer freezes. As soon as I pull the firewire out or turn off the camera, the computer shuts down. Ever hear of anything like this?

What could be causing these problems?

Thanks
Deniz Turkmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2004, 04:58 PM   #7
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,415
I would try another Windows XP/2000 PC with a different firewire cable. Lets hope its not a cam problem!
Tommy Haupfear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2004, 01:17 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: CA
Posts: 166
I just recieved a dual 2.5 G5 and tried the camera on it. It still isn't being detected, so I guess it has to be the camera itself, which isn't cool because I just bought it a few months ago and haven't used it for anything other than watching a tape here and there.
Deniz Turkmen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9th, 2004, 10:25 PM   #9
New Boot
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Great Falls, VA
Posts: 6
I have a PV-DV53D and just captured in Adobe Premiere 6.5 an hour of video to my HP zv5000z notebook. It has Win XP Pro SP1.
__________________
Bill
Bill Gehrke is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant > Panasonic DV / MX / GS series Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network