DVX100 -- various topics - Page 21 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant
The 4K DVX200 plus previous Panasonic Pro Line cams: DVX100A, DVC60, DVC30.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 14th, 2006, 09:34 AM   #301
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Hi Dennis,

The HD version of the DVX100 is already out... it's called the HVX200. We have an entire forum dedicated to it. See http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=80. However it is more than $5000.

If you want an HD camcorder with XLR inputs (jacks, not plugs!) for under $5000, there are two Sony camcorders that will fill the bill. They are the Sony HVR-Z1U and HVR-A1. They record to standard Mini-DV cassettes in an HD format called HDV. We have dedicated forums for these cameras as well:

Sony Z1 HDV: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=75

Sony A1 HDV: http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/forumdisplay.php?f=99

Hope this helps,
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 09:59 AM   #302
Tourist
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Williamsport, PA
Posts: 1
Dvx 100a Broken tripod mount plate

When installing my DVX on a glide cam, I managed to drop the whole thing.
Upon hitting the floor, the tripod mounting plate on the bottom of the camera cracked. Is this a costly repair? Has anyone had a similar problem?
Tony Ramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2006, 04:55 PM   #303
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 77
check out DVXUSER

Go over to the DVXuser forum (www.dvxuser.com) and look in the DIY forum. I know there is someone who has made an aluminum or stainless replacement for the bottom plate which I believe they are selling, supposed to be a lot better. good luck, Mark
__________________
DVX100a, PV-DV953
Rode NT3, NT1a, videomic
Raynox HD6600pro WA Lens
Vegas6+DVD
Mark Burlingame is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2006, 10:47 AM   #304
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 264
DVX100: How can I monitor the output?

Hello to all:

I will be shooting with a DVX100 for only my second time and I need to know if I can use my standard 4:3 NTSC color monitor to see the output if I'm using the camera in 16:9 mode?

I know some cameras will output a "squeezed" image to fit 4:3... does this camera do that and is it acceptable?

Thanks,

George
__________________
"the difference between an amateur photographer and a professional is the amateur shows you all his pictures"
George Odell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 16th, 2006, 04:35 PM   #305
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
It would output the squeezed image, which would fill the 4:3 screen on your monitor. If your monitor has a 16:9 switch, the image would display in the proper aspect ratio.

Note: you said "DVX100", not "DVX100A" or "DVX100B". For clarification, the original DVX100 did not have a "squeeze" mode; it only has 4:3 (either with or without letterbox bars) so either of those modes will display perfectly well on your monitor.

If you're using a DVX100A or DVX100B then you have access to the 16:9 "squeeze" mode. But you'll have to decide whether viewing the footage "squeezed" is acceptable to you. The image stretch will make everyone look tall and skinny; it's not a massive squeeze though (like with cinema anamorphics; those squeeze the image by a factor of 2:1; the DVX's squeeze is around 1/3 of that). If you're using a DVX100B you can have the onboard LCD automatically correct the aspect ratio, but on the external monitor it will be the full signal; if your monitor is 4:3 only then yes it will appear squeezed/stretched.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2006, 10:33 AM   #306
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 31
Panasonic DVX100B vs Sony HDR-FX1

I am looking to move from a high end consumer camera into a more capable prosumer camera. I plan to use it at least for (a) fund-raising and short documentary style videos for non-profit groups, and (b) shooting travel video that can be incorporated into documentaries. Family events are a side benefit.

What should I look for? Probably an adequate level of manual controls. Quality video reproduction. Size and weight are important. 24p ability seems at least somewhat important. Iím not certain about HDV. Cost is important.

The choice seems to be between the Panasonic DVX100B and the Sony HDR-FX1.

Both seem to be good cameras. Both cost about the same. The DVX100B has a proven track record and 24P. The Sony is HD and has CineFrame24 but Iíve read both good and bad reviews of that and would like to hear your experience. HD is probably not important right now, but might give some of the travel clips a longer useful life.

Iíd like to hear your thoughts. Also what editing packages would support 24P on the DVX100. I currently use Premiere 6.5. I have been told that 24P on the DVX100B produces too much of a strobe-like appearance if there is any movement. What is your experience?

Dale
Dale Lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2006, 11:39 AM   #307
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
The Debate goes on

You are recommencing a debate that seems to go on forever.. Bottom line from what I've seen from all of the threads on this issue is that each camera has assets and liabilities. To get to an output you are lookong for there are post production techniques and work arounds galore.

I chose FX1 because I wanted HDV as an option. Since I got it, I shoot everything in HDV, and decide how to handle from there. You can actually convert to DV right out of camera in 4:3 or 16:9 If you want to actually do a HDV project and your system is up to it, you can get Premiere Pro 2.0 upgrade for $200, and be running there. Its great, despite what you might hear from Vegas and Final Cut heads. Cineform Aspect HD for $500 will give you added capability (claimed better color rendition), but your intermediate files take up about five times the space... You will likely be adding big hard drives. Warning: Once you work with HDV or HD, you will never really be satisfied with your DV options.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2006, 03:40 PM   #308
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 51
DVX100 with shotgun mic problem

Hey guy's, I got a problem here, I am using an AKG shotgun mic on input 1 and it's only giving me 1 channel of audio(the left side). How do I get it onto both if possible and turn off the onboard mic?

Thanks
Lyndon Golanowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2006, 11:09 PM   #309
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Waynesboro, PA
Posts: 648
use input 2 and under the lcd select input 2 to 2 and input 1 to recieve channel 2 as well. these selections will also turn off the int. mic.
Matt Stahley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 27th, 2006, 09:39 AM   #310
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 31
DVX100B Analog to Digital?

I am considering getting a DVX100B. I have some older analog videotapes that I'd like to convert to digital. Does this camera have the capability of taking in an analog signal and writing it to mini-DV?

Dale
Dale Lundy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 28th, 2006, 12:11 AM   #311
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Yes it does.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2006, 02:30 AM   #312
Tourist
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2
i'm in trouble

hi
i'm ovidiu marginean , bucharest(romania) based cinematographer.
since last summer i'm owner of a dvx 100 ae (pal).

i like this camera , but now i have a problem. the fire wire connection doesn't work anymore.
i use it for transferring the material from camera to pc only once.
that time i was present , when the video editor was trying to capture the material.
he used his pinnacle sound board for capturin video. sounds strange for me and i asked him if everything is ok. he answered yes!

after about ten minutes of normal transfer, the avid express stopped the transfer and didn't want to accept the fire wire (didnt recognize it).

that day we stoped the editing , and the editor finish the job,later, in another editing mashines.

but , next time when i tried tu use my fire wire option af my panasonic dvx , didn't work anymore. i tryed different ways , but unsuccesfull.

can somebody have any ideas?
realy appreciate!
thanks

ovidiu marginean
www.cinematographer.ro
Ovidiu Marginean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 3rd, 2006, 08:33 AM   #313
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Mays Landing, NJ
Posts: 11,543
Hi Ovidiu and welcome to DVinfo. I've moved your post to our DVX forum which is the correct place to ask questions about your camera - that other forum is just a place to say "hi" to everyone :-)

Regarding firewire on the DVX, I don't have much familiarity with that camera but have read several posts about blown firewire ports - see the following for starters:

http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showthread.php?t=41620
http://www.dvinfo.net/conf/showpost.php?p=351429

I imagine you'll get some additional responses here too.
Boyd Ostroff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2006, 02:25 PM   #314
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 47
DVX100B Multi Cam Sync?

Has any one used the multi camera firewire timecode sync set up with the DVX100B cameras? Do you use free run time code? Once the master cam has slaved another DVX100B cam. can it then be unplugged and repeated for a second or third DVX100B, etc.?? What might be the issues when using Firewire Hard Drives with each camera???
Any insight would be helpful...

Thanks'

Gary
Gary Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 4th, 2006, 03:37 PM   #315
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
You must use free run, yes. You can designate one camera as the master and then sync all the other cameras to the master. If you're in a mixed-camera environment (say, a bunch of 100B's and a 100A) you can designate the 100A as the master (or, any DV device; the 100B's will sync to any DV timecode coming through a firewire port regardless of the source).
Barry Green is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:43 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network