24p questions - Page 25 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant
The 4K DVX200 plus previous Panasonic Pro Line cams: DVX100A, DVC60, DVC30.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 22nd, 2003, 07:38 PM   #361
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: sounthern maine
Posts: 344
really?

god, why didn't someone else say that?

the most i would do is either burn it to dvd, or export it to tape and make a vhs dupe.

there really aren't any other steps needed?

i have read so much about the whole pulldown issue but it just got more confusing the more i read.

matthew
Matthew de Jongh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 22nd, 2003, 09:45 PM   #362
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 331
Hi,
Just be sure that you shoot in 24p (Standard) for your straight-to-video stuff. 24p(Advanced) is for if you want to go out to film or make progressive-scan DVDs.

Much more info can be found here: http://www.adamwilt.com

Good luck!
Nick Medrano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 12:38 AM   #363
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
From what I have heard premiere pro does not do 2:3:3:2 pull downs as of yet.

Meaning if you film in 24a you will not be able to convert it when importing it into premiere.

Avid, Vegas, and FCP are the only ones I do believe, if there is others please post.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 12:52 AM   #364
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
Blade 2 will edit 24pa as well.
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 01:10 AM   #365
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Blade 2.2 only does 24p not 24a as I have read it.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 07:50 AM   #366
Major Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: sounthern maine
Posts: 344
ok. this is exactly what i'm talking about...

#1. i only care about premiere pro

#2. i want to be able to make dvd's and vhs copies.

#3. i want to be able to make those dvd's progressive scan (how does a dvd work if the person doesn't have a progressive scan player? doesn't the dvd down convert to interlaced on it's own?)

this is the sort of mixed answers that makes me aprehensive about getting the dvx-100

i mean if i get a pd-150 (pd-170) i know what to do with it.

i love the idea of 24p and the whole cinelook stuff, but i need a definitive answer that i'm not going to either shoot a bunch of stuff that i won't be able to edit, or have to throw away my investment in premiere pro and my bigger investment in the time i have spent learning premiere.

matthew
Matthew de Jongh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 11:12 AM   #367
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
Mathhew:

If you use Premiere Pro, I recommend getting DV Filmmaker (lots of threads here on it) to process your footage. Or you can shoot 24p standard and just be careful of judder frames when you edit.

I'm not sure of Premier Pro's output options (i.e. can it output progressive 24fps Mpeg) since the last version I used was 6.0) but DV Filmmaker should be able to help you create a usable file though you may have to get another mpeg encoder if Premiere Pro won't do it.

And yes, the player just ouputs interlaced from progressive DVD's if not in progressive mode or does not support progressive.
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 11:30 AM   #368
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Premiere Pro outputs have changed however it's when you film in 24a and you need to remove the 2:3:3:2 and then again add it when going to post.

That's all I am talking about as to gets ability to edit it is a good NLE as of yet there will be an update the first or second quarter of this next year bringing it up to where it needs to be.
  Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 11:36 AM   #369
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: CT
Posts: 61
don't want to confuse anybody any further but will premiere pro edit 30p images and output 30p DVDs?

the look of 30p and 24p are very very close- perhaps if it can edit this footage it would solve your progressive scan DVD question.....I wish i had the answer for you...as i am debating the same situation....whether to spend a little more for an avid express pro or spend a little less on adobe's video collection

any help?

thanks
Steve Minnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2003, 11:40 AM   #370
Space Hipster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 1,508
30P needs no special support at all. It's turns into 60i, but because each field is the same moment in time, your home free.

Blade 2.2 does support advanced:

http://www.in-sync.com/index.php/fuseaction/support_documentation_24p_editing
__________________
stephen v2
www.insaturnsrings.com
Stephen van Vuuren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 03:26 PM   #371
Tourist
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Beverly Hills, CA
Posts: 2
>>24P Standard doesn't lose any frames, I don't know what that reference is to. 24P Standard looks similar to film after it's been transferred to video -- all the information is there, nothing's lost.<<

Actually, working in 24P standard with 3:2 pulddown on a 60i tape format makes it impossible to reconstruct every discrete 24fps frame intact from the 60i source. 24P-Advanced is 3:2:2:3, so it allows full recovery of each frame.
Russell Fray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24th, 2003, 05:38 PM   #372
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Ong,

Are you shooting on the HD10 or another camera?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2003, 12:14 PM   #373
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 74
It's shot aredy in DVX100, the PAL version, which only have 25p mode only.
Ong Wan Shu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2003, 12:32 PM   #374
Moderator
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boston, MA (travel frequently)
Posts: 837
Hello Ong,

What NLE software are you currently using or would prefer to use? Let's start from there since there are so many different NLE solutions out there - might as well narrow down the answer to the NLE software that you will be using.

Let us know, ok?

- don
__________________
DONALD BERUBE - noisybrain. Productions, LLC
Director Of Photography/ Producer/ Consultant
http://noisybrain.com/donbio.html
CREATE and NETWORK with http://www.bosfcpug.org
and also http://fcpugnetwork.org
Don Berube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 25th, 2003, 02:54 PM   #375
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
If you shot it in 25p mode, then you have no editing issues to worry about. There is no pulldown or any other complication involved: you can use any editor that supports PAL and you'll be able to edit frame-accurately, as long as you tell it to use full frames, not fields.
Barry Green is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:16 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network