generating tone on my dvx100 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant
The 4K DVX200 plus previous Panasonic Pro Line cams: DVX100A, DVC60, DVC30.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 1st, 2004, 05:49 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
generating tone on my dvx100

How do I generate tone and the beginning of my tape so I can keep my sound consistent in post....or does it automatically do that since Im not using a second source for sound? I am running sound straight out the camera.
Thanks
Ryan
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 03:53 AM   #2
RED Code Chef
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Holland
Posts: 12,514
To the best of my knowledge no con / pro-sumer camera can
generate a tone to lay down to tape. You will have to use an
external device that can generate a tone and record from that.
__________________

Rob Lohman, visuar@iname.com
DV Info Wrangler & RED Code Chef

Join the DV Challenge | Lady X

Search DVinfo.net for quick answers | Buy from the best: DVinfo.net sponsors
Rob Lohman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 07:59 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Honolulu, HI
Posts: 429
Perhaps you could bring a mixer capable of producing tone for your shoot? Another option is Fostex's TT-15 Tone Oscillator, which sells for around $60 US. Click on this for information.
Christopher Go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 09:31 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
Thank you guys very much for your help. I havent really heard much talk on the subject and was wondering if there was an obvious answer or if no one really bothers with it.
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 12:58 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19
You can lay down a tone in premiere pro with color bars at the start of the tape. I set my timecode to 00:58:30:00 and record 30 secs. of tone and color bars and a min of black.
Tyler Gred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 01:38 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
I use final cut so I am not familiar with premiere....now you are laying this down on the tape itself? Also how do you set it, what level do you put it at and such.
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 02:04 PM   #7
New Boot
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 19
Yeah you just lay down the bars and tone and export to tape at the start. You can adjust it to any level using the mixer within premiere pro, but I usually leave it at -12. I believe 0 is the peak level you can go in digital without it distorting.
Tyler Gred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 02:50 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
Excellent...does anyone know if this is an option on final cut pro 4 as well?

Finally, now that you have set tone to 12 what exactly does this do for you?
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 03:56 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 78
<<<-- Originally posted by Ryan Wachter : Excellent...does anyone know if this is an option on final cut pro 4 as well?

Finally, now that you have set tone to 12 what exactly does this do for you? -->>>

In FCP 4, look in the Video Generators effects folder. I believe it's called Bars and Tone. The -12db tone is used as a reference when calibrating the playback system. The tone tells the tape operator where to set the levels for playback.

Rick
__________________
There is no problem so large that can't be solved with a suitable application of high explosives.
Rick Foxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 05:16 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
The operator of what exactly? If it is transfered to say dvd then you dont have tone at the beginning of the movie to tell you where to set your tv volume controls. So where exactly does this helpful tone come into play....again I want to thank you for your help.
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 06:06 PM   #11
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
By "operator" I believe Rick refers to a technician, perhaps broadcast, who would be using a tape produced by someone else.

Obviously, if you're just producing a personal dvd the bars-and-tone effort is largely pointless.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 06:28 PM   #12
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Yep. Tone is used primarily to calibrate different sources to use a common level. So, if dubbing a DV tape to BetaSP, you'd put tone at the head of your tape, and the technician would then calibrate the BetaSP deck so that the audio input levels were appropriate for the tone that's being sent.

Or, tone is used by a field mixer to calibrate the levels the mixer is seeing to what the camera is recording.

But if it's for your own personal projects, and nobody has to calibrate anything to your video, then tone is not necessary.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 08:28 PM   #13
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 78
<<<-- Originally posted by Barry Green : Yep. Tone is used primarily to calibrate different sources to use a common level. So, if dubbing a DV tape to BetaSP, you'd put tone at the head of your tape, and the technician would then calibrate the BetaSP deck so that the audio input levels were appropriate for the tone that's being sent.

Or, tone is used by a field mixer to calibrate the levels the mixer is seeing to what the camera is recording.

But if it's for your own personal projects, and nobody has to calibrate anything to your video, then tone is not necessary. -->>>

My answer was clear as mud. Barry said it much better than I did.
__________________
There is no problem so large that can't be solved with a suitable application of high explosives.
Rick Foxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 08:49 PM   #14
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 164
That will do it, now one last thing. If I am planning on sending my project to film festivals am I going to still want the tone? Or say sending it in to a public tc show?
Ryan Wachter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 2nd, 2004, 08:54 PM   #15
Retired DV Info Net Almunus
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 6,943
There are no universal answers to those questions. Contact the respective venues to determine what they prefer.
__________________
Lady X Films: A lady with a boring wardrobe...and a global mission.

Hey, you don't have enough stuff!
Buy with confidence from our sponsors. Hand-picked as the best in the business...Really!

See some of my work one frame at a time: www.KenTanaka.com
Ken Tanaka is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network