60i vs 30p for compressed output? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant
The 4K DVX200 plus previous Panasonic Pro Line cams: DVX100A, DVC60, DVC30.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 27th, 2004, 09:21 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 119
60i vs 30p for compressed output?

I typically shoot 30i with my DVX100p's. Typically, my end product is delivered onto NTSC DVD. I've got a shoot this week where the output will be delivered onto CD via some sort of compressed format(s), probably either Quick-time and or Windows Media for computer based viewing.

Is there an advantage to shooting 30p for computer playback content?

If so, can I capture in my NLE (Premiere Pro) and keep 30p?

I understand 24pa somewhat and how NLE's such as Vegas can capture and adjust the pull-down to keep 24p whilst editing. I know Premiere Pro can't do this for 24p, but what about 30p?

How do you dvx-100 30p shooters capture into your NLE and why and under what circumstances do you shoot 30p?
Mike Morrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 09:50 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Posts: 85
I think I shoot 30p all the time now.. Ill use 60i in low light as it has a very slight advantage. Buy SOny Vegas and you will no longer have the dilema of I can or cant. Besides its a easier program tyo use and has little to no crashes or freeze ups. theres a reason why these guys LOVE this App (VEGAS).
Scott Plowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27th, 2004, 10:17 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 119
For this shoot, I will have controlled lighting, focus, etc. So I do not need 60i for low light or auto focus. I also have Vegas 4 and now 5 but I've never really used it and am familiar with PPro, plus I have a RT card for PPro. PPro is VERY stable for me. Most of my editing for this project will really be in AE anyway, so I could capture in Vegas and edit in AE I guess. But I'm also using a green screen and I did some chroma key testing in AE and the results were bad, while they were very good in PPro with matrox RT keying until I go to WM9.
Mike Morrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 07:45 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 54
"Is there an advantage to shooting 30p for computer playback content?"

Yes. Eventually, 60i footage needs to be de-interlaced to progressive footage when it is compressed for either CD or DVD distribution. Shooting progressive to begin with saves one step, which should increase resolution and save a bit of time when compressing.

"If so, can I capture in my NLE (Premiere Pro) and keep 30p?"

Almost certain you can, though I don't have PPro.

"I understand 24pa somewhat and how NLE's such as Vegas can capture and adjust the pull-down to keep 24p whilst editing. I know Premiere Pro can't do this for 24p, but what about 30p?"

Actually, version 1.5 of PPro, just released, does support 24p. Don't know how much it is to upgrade, though.
Joe Kras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 07:55 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 119
Unfortunately, we are looking at 2 to 5 weeks before PPro 1.5 is out and I will have to have my project done prior to then. The upgrade is $99 and I will purchase it. But I agree that PPro 1.0 should support 30p, but as of yet, I have not figured out how to properly capture. My shoot is tomorrow, so unless I can figure out how to capture 30p in PPro today, I'm going to have to do what I know, 60i.
Mike Morrell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 09:55 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Midcoast, Maine
Posts: 89
just set your fields to progressive and edit 30p when starting a new project
Michael Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 28th, 2004, 10:04 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Norcross GA
Posts: 119
>just set your fields to progressive and edit 30p when starting a new project<

Michael, should I capture as usual and by setting the project settings to "no fields" and this will skip every other captured frame (field) in PPro?
Mike Morrell is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:07 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network