DVX 100ap after rendering video & audio skip at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant
The 4K DVX200 plus previous Panasonic Pro Line cams: DVX100A, DVC60, DVC30.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old October 14th, 2005, 08:13 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 4
DVX 100ap after rendering video & audio skip

After I bought this awesome camera, I put it to the test.

My System: eMac G4, 1g ram, 440 gb hard drive
Application: Final Cut Express 3.01

First I tested it on a project I already completed with my JVC camera. Which I was able to view perfectly on my monitor

I then hooked my DVX up to my system, and when I viewed the same material the video & audio skipped.

I then preset my camera and system according to the Panasonic recommended settings. (although the settings recommended, were for Final Cut Pro and not Express.) After the settings were adjusted , it had no affect on the previous stated results. Although I don't think the version of my software is the problem.

So I attempted one more test.
I uploaded new footage taken from the DVX to FCE. The raw footage viewed perfectly, UNTIL I started rendering. Then it started to skip again.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

I did repair permissions, but that did nothing.

Thanks for your help.

Peter
Peter Varitimos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 15th, 2005, 05:53 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Illinois
Posts: 888
did you try iMovie?
Bob Zimmerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17th, 2005, 07:28 AM   #3
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Massachusetts, USA
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Zimmerman
did you try iMovie?
Not to be smart, but why try iMovie? That won't solve my problem.
__________________
If it moves shoot it, if it doesn't move, admire it, then shoot it.
Peter Varitimos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 19th, 2005, 03:14 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sherman Oaks CA
Posts: 255
Hey,

What OS are you using? If OS X or HD there is probably an incompatibility problem with your FCP 3. I could be wrong here but the research I have done indicates that FCP 3 will only operate correctly in OS 9 versions. My personal experience backs this up. My suggestion would be to partition your drive and isolate FCP 3 in OS 9 for your editing purposes.

You can always change your start up disk to open in OS X when you need to.


Good Luck,

Stephanie
Stephanie Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 26th, 2005, 02:20 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Im almost positive if you export it as a .mov it will play perfectly it just is slow in FCP. FCP is a little shaky if its not on a PERFECT monster of a computer.
David Silverstein is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic DVX / DVC Assistant

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:46 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network