Help: 720 Footage Crashing FCP During Log & Transfer at

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old May 8th, 2010, 06:23 PM   #1
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Washington D.C.
Posts: 3
Help: 720 Footage Crashing FCP During Log & Transfer

Hey guys, need some help.

I'm running FCP 6.0.1

I wanted to do some slo-mo tests today with my new GH1. Shot in AVCHD, Rec Mode SH (for 720 60p).

Opened up FCP, went to log and transfer, and the footage shows up in the clips. I can preview the files, etc. BUT, when I drop them into the queue for capture, FCP crashes.

So, I trash the preferences, repaired permissions, etc. Second try. Another crash.

I then tried my hand at rec modes H & L. Same issue.

Trashed preferences again. Reformatted card, etc.

Still having the same issue with rec modes SH, H, & L. But, FHD (1080i 24p) is still working.

Any ideas as to what's going on here? I'm pretty new to AVCHD, and I've heard some of the FCP gripes with handling AVCHD, but I was hoping not to encounter them. Apparently I should've knocked on wood. Thanks guys.
Ben Haslup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 11th, 2010, 07:20 PM   #2
Regular Crew
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Santorini, Greece
Posts: 35
Are you importing as ProRes or some other intermediate codec?

Unless you have an extremely powerful machine (i.e. a quad or octo core Mac Pro), I would recommend against importing as AVCHD, because it will often crash your machine.

If you log and transfer into ProRes, the files will be physically quite large, but much more manageable from a processor perspective.

Cineform is another option that some people find useful.
Peter Gjevre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 2nd, 2010, 09:40 AM   #3
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: York, England
Posts: 1,323
Any speed Mac can import AVCHD and transcode to ProRes 422. I've done it on a Mac Mini with no problems whatsoever. So, speed of your Mac will not be important.

What are your transcode settings? I use ProRes 422 and have not had any AVCHD problems (actually I've had the odd long clip that won't import - but splitting it got around the problem).

Have you tried transcoding to a different codec?

As long as the file structure is intact, FCP should have no real problems importing/transcoding AVCHD to ProRes (as long as it's Intel).
Qualified UAV Pilot with CAA PFAW
Aerial Photo / Aerial Video | Corporate Video Production
Dave Partington is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:00 PM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network