GH1/GH2 - auto iso or not? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 3rd, 2011, 06:16 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 106
GH1/GH2 - auto iso or not?

Sorry if it has been answered already, but I could not find it.
And manual is unclear... My questions are:
- can you control (limit) iso level on GH1/2 when recording movie in motion picture mode?
- does GH1/2 have any aid like zebra or focus assist in video mode?
- do both GH1 and GH2 behave the same in the above cases?

Last edited by Waldi Krasowski; February 4th, 2011 at 05:42 AM.
Waldi Krasowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 3rd, 2011, 08:53 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waldi Krasowski View Post
Sorry if it has been answered already, but I could not find. My question is:
- can you control (limit) iso level when recording movie in motion picture?
- do both GH1 and GH2 behave the same in that case?
In the GH2 you can set ISO manually. Dunno about GH1.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2011, 06:23 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 389
Gh1

I know that the GH1 lets you have full control over ISO when recording a movie (you can switch between manual, shutter priority, aperture priority, and program while in movie mode).

Unfortunately, there are no zebras available. The best you get is a histogram, which is still helpful.

Sorry, I don't know if the GH2 follows suit.
Corey Graham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2011, 10:09 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Corey Graham View Post
I know that the GH1 lets you have full control over ISO when recording a movie (you can switch between manual, shutter priority, aperture priority, and program while in movie mode).
Thank you for reply mate, but are you sure? I know we can use shutter or aperture priority and both manually, but looking at user manual on page 109, it says that manually "setting a higher shutter speed may increase the noise on-screen due to the higher sensitivity". Also page 104 says that iso will operate as auto in movie mode...
Waldi Krasowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2011, 10:56 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
The GH2 has a feature similar to zebras. It's not adjustable and more obtrusive than zebras as well, but it seems to work really well. It's set at 100IRE, meaning if an area of the frame is flashing, you're clipping the signal.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2011, 11:14 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Luce View Post
at 100IRE, meaning if an area of the frame is flashing, you're clipping the signal.
Thank you. 100 ire is not very sophisticated but that is fine.
Waldi Krasowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2011, 11:20 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waldi Krasowski View Post
but looking at user manual on page 109, it says that manually "setting a higher shutter speed may increase the noise on-screen due to the higher sensitivity".
It really isn't specific as to what it's talking about -- usually, increasing the shutter speed forces you to increase aperture or ISO, which can lead to more noise.

Or, since it says "noise on-screen," does it mean that the LCD is compensating, not the actual recorded image?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Waldi Krasowski View Post
Also page 104 says that iso will operate as auto in movie mode...
I think that's when you're using Intelligent ISO. It functions in the same way that AUTO ISO mode functions, when you're shooting a movie.
Corey Graham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 4th, 2011, 12:57 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waldi Krasowski View Post
Thank you. 100 ire is not very sophisticated but that is fine.
I agree, but if you're coming from a 7d it's appreciated. The GH2 also has histogram and an exposure meter.
Brian Luce is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network