Moire with GH2 after converted - Page 4 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2011, 10:04 AM   #46
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
You can do a great job in Virtual Dub if done correctly. I used to use it but I switched to HDLink because it is easier and faster. It comes with Cineform which I also use as a near lossless intermediate codec.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 01:20 PM   #47
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Owensboro, ky
Posts: 96
Vegas 10 has the cineform codec as well
David Grinnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 01:26 PM   #48
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Earlier versions of Vegas has a basic version of Cineform but Cineform in any 'variety' isn't included with Vegas 10.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 01:29 PM   #49
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Owensboro, ky
Posts: 96
Well maybe I’m wrong, wouldn’t be the first time haha

Here is what I was referencing as cineform in vegas 10

oh and I agree with you Jim on it being easier and faster, but I just can't justify the money... sure it takes time but its just render hours, I just leave it to render while I sleep :)
Attached Thumbnails
Moire with GH2 after converted-untitled.jpg  
David Grinnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 05:33 PM   #50
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Guy, I only saw your online version, which had tiny bars on the side, and I didn't realize you had resized it....I didn't download it, didn't know I could, I'll go back and download it and check it out.

Thank you!

Jim's right David, I happened to read somewhere on the Cineform website that they stopped shipping Cineform codec with Vegas in 10.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 07:22 PM   #51
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 287
Cineform is a great CODEC. I use it for archiving finished projects and when I need to collaborate with Final Cut Pro editors, as the Cineform CODEC is completely cross-platform between Windows and Mac platforms.

The cheapest way to buy the Cineform CODEC is from the Videoguys.com 800 323-2325 we are the video editing and production experts website which sells Cineform NEO SCENE for Windows or Mac for $100.
Guy McLoughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 11:50 AM   #52
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
Cineform Neoscene only supports these camera formats - HDV, AVCHD, Canon 5DM2/7D/T2i

Cineform NeoHD supports these camera formats - HDV, AVCHD, DVCPRO HD (P2),
XDCam HD/EX, Canon 5D/7D/1DS V-DSLRs, Infinity J2K

You also need NeoHD if you want to be able to resize to SD video
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 04:13 PM   #53
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Snow View Post
Cineform NeoHD supports these camera formats - HDV, AVCHD, DVCPRO HD (P2), XDCam HD/EX, Canon 5D/7D/1DS V-DSLRs, Infinity J2K
The VideoGuys website sells NeoHD for $400, which is a $100 off the manufacturer's price.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Snow View Post
You also need NeoHD if you want to be able to resize to SD video
Just to clarify, if you want to be able to resize during the importing process you need NeoHD, otherwise you are free to resize using your video editor and save as SD format using the Cineform CODEC that comes with NEO SCENE.

If I was processing a lot of HD ---> SD, the NeoHD upgrade would be well worth it, as you can batch-import and down-rez at the same time.
Guy McLoughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 07:48 PM   #54
Trustee
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 1,104
I have found that NeoHD does a much better job with HD to SD resizing than Vegas does. That is pretty much the case with any NLE. That has always been a mystery to me, that is why do pro level NLE's do a poor job compared to other methods of resizing. Deinterlacing is another problem with NLE's. Cineform does a vastly better job with deinterlacing.
Jim Snow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 08:05 PM   #55
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 287
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Snow View Post
I have found that NeoHD does a much better job with HD to SD resizing than Vegas does. Cineform does a vastly better job with deinterlacing.
Hmmm... I would agree with you when I first got Vegas and used the supplied presets, but once I got used to making my own custom Vegas presets, I found that Vegas can do a great job, but there is no room for error, you get one thing wrong and the result is quite bad.
Guy McLoughlin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 09:13 PM   #56
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Yes, I suspect I'm going to end up with NeoHD. With a wedding a week, if not more during the busy season, time will be at a permium, and the $400 would well be worth it!
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 12:39 AM   #57
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 106
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guy McLoughlin View Post
Vegas can do a great job, but there is no room for error, you get one thing wrong and the result is quite bad.
And to learn Vegas would be better than to spend 400USD for NeoHD (and learn it as well).
Waldi Krasowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 04:16 AM   #58
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,290
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Anyone have a good alternative to $400 HD Link, clunky Virtual Dub and mediocre Vegas down sizing? Nero have a downscaling features?
Brian Luce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 09:05 AM   #59
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
I am using TMPGEnc express 4.0. I wonder has it stacks up against Cineform HD? Has anyone tried both?

TMPGEnc - Products: TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 21st, 2011, 09:10 AM   #60
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: Moire with GH2 after converted

Does it resize avchd video, or avi?
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:00 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network