Manual/Auto ISO? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2011, 07:18 AM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Manual/Auto ISO?

I have spent a lot of time trying to find how to turn auto iso off, but I haven't succeeded. Is the best that we can do is change the max sensitivity? Not a huge deal...but when I hit record, the ISO number changes to Auto on my LCD. Any thoughts?

Actually, it kind of is a big deal, as I don't like the ISO changing as I pan, etc.
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.

Last edited by Jeff Harper; February 19th, 2011 at 09:28 AM.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 10:35 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 106
There is NO auto-iso in Creative Motion Picture mode. The mode I've told you earlier to stick with.
Waldi Krasowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 10:38 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Waldi, I've not been following your instructions! I've been playing in Manual! So what's up with the ISO? Can it be kept on manual?
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 03:44 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 106
In a manual video recording mode (Creative Motion Picture) and manually controlled exposure (ie. "M" - aperture and shutter) there is no auto-iso at all. I have never seen it there! You can only choose one of iso values and it will stay where you've set it up. I mean iso sensitivity stays constant!

PS
For me "full manual" mode is:
Creative Motion Picture set on a dial (old-style camera icon) and
Menu/Motion picture/Exposure mode=M.

Last edited by Waldi Krasowski; February 19th, 2011 at 05:24 PM.
Waldi Krasowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 04:23 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Keizer, OR
Posts: 66
Waldi So there is no way to use the shutter mode and let the camera set the aperture without it changing the iso?
Norm Rehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 05:21 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 106
You can use the shutter priority mode (letting the camera set the aperture) with auto-iso or without (fixed iso). So the camera sets aperture AND iso, or aperture only. But this is not full manual mode that Jeff referred to...
Waldi Krasowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 05:32 PM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Keizer, OR
Posts: 66
Waldi - Yes I understand it is not manual. I was trying to learn if it was aslo possible to be in shutter mode and have the iso fixed. Would you tell me how to set that ?

Thanks
Norm Rehm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 05:39 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Thanks Waldi, I'll go to Creative Picture this evening when it's playtime. I have a wedding next week, so I must learn how to use this camera!
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 06:58 PM   #9
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Poland
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norm Rehm View Post
Waldi - Yes I understand it is not manual. I was trying to learn if it was aslo possible to be in shutter mode and have the iso fixed. Would you tell me how to set that ?
Thanks
You simply press rear button (up arrow/ISO) and choose "AUTO" or certain iso value, like 200, 400, 1600 etc.

I have one advice to everybody who wants to fully control his GH2 camera:
- switch to Creative Motion Picture mode and NEVER leave it!

Last edited by Waldi Krasowski; February 20th, 2011 at 11:00 AM.
Waldi Krasowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2011, 11:02 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Creative

Waldi, you are correct, it is the true fully manual mode. I also like how much easier things are to control from there! Very nice!
__________________
http://JeffHarperVideo.com
The horror of what I saw on the timeline cannot be described.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2011, 09:12 AM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Waldi Krasowski View Post
In a manual video recording mode (Creative Motion Picture) and manually controlled exposure (ie. "M" - aperture and shutter) there is no auto-iso at all. I have never seen it there! You can only choose one of iso values and it will stay where you've set it up. I mean iso sensitivity stays constant!

PS
For me "full manual" mode is:
Creative Motion Picture set on a dial (old-style camera icon) and
Menu/Motion picture/Exposure mode=M.
I never saw that setting 'Menu/Motion picture/Exposure mode=M' before you mentioned it. I must looked past it. I have mine set in Creative Cimema mode using P for priority which was working fine unless I shot something backlit then I had to scramble to overcome it.
Thanks for the tip.....I would have missed that.
I have been testing out my GH2 and shooting some beauty shots, I will have to post them in the sample clips thread. I hope more people will do that so I can see other folks video.
Jim Forrest is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:21 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network