GH2 firmware update at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 1st, 2012, 12:42 PM   #1
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
GH2 firmware update

Hey guys, I haven't updated my firmware yet. Want to do it, have it downloaded from way back.

What is the skinny on what it fixes or improves? Tips on how to do it?

I guess the first step is to put it on a card.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 05:06 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 513
Re: GH2 firmware update

Jeff - for me, the most useful upgrades have been the new 24mbps, 1080/30p high bit rate video mode and the ability to set still and video ETC separately. Since I'd like to get a power zoom someday, the PZ upgrade is something I plan to use in the future.

Here is the Panasonic page explaining the upgrades: https://eww.pavc.panasonic.co.jp/sup...in/GH2_eng.pdf

Here are the detailed instructions for downloading, extracting and transferring the file to SD: Joint update service for Four Thirds body and lenses | Download | Digital Camera | Digital AV | Consumer Products | Support | Panasonic Global

Here are the procedures for the camera body update: Joint update service for Four Thirds lens and DMC-G1/GH1 camera body step 2 | Download | Digital Camera | Digital AV | Consumer Products | Support | Panasonic Global

Good luck!

Bill
Bill Bruner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 07:51 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 623
Re: GH2 firmware update

Jeff, I'm surprised you haven't updated considering you don't like 24p. For me the 30p setting is a must for certain shoots. I never use 720p60 unless doing slow-mo, which is rare.
Patrick Janka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1st, 2012, 10:48 PM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: GH2 firmware update

Patrick, I shoot exclusively in 24p, made the switch last fall. This is because it is the only progressive format universal to all my cameras that can play natively on Blurays other than 60i.

720 60p is still my favorite, because:

1) it is supported by the Bluray standard and converts for DVD really well.

2) I strongly prefer the smooth motion of 60p, and to me it outweighs the benefits of the higher resolution of 1080 60i with it's sucky interlacing.

30p is not supported by Bluray, which all of my work is for. 24p is poorly suited for wedding work in many ways, but I've learned to shoot around the shortcomings. 24p is fine as long as I pan properly, etc, and it does have a nice dreamy look to it, but I really miss 720 60p.

I long for the day when 60p is supported by Bluray.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 05:51 AM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: GH2 firmware update

Jeff, I am curious, does 30p not transfer to 59.94p well in your experience? Most of the BluRays I have made are 24p and look great. I have made 60p BluRays from GH2 720 footage but never have had the need to send my 30p material to BluRay. I would think that 30p would just duplicate frames and be unnoticeable.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 07:05 AM   #6
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: GH2 firmware update

Bill, I neglected to thank you for your kind links, thank you so much for your help.

William, I have never shot in 30p, so I'm not a good one to ask. As we all know it looks quite nice for the web, but since it's not supported as-is for Bluray I just never bothered. I do know some folks get very nice results with it for DVD, but I just never ventured into it.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 07:32 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: GH2 firmware update

I thought there were some improvements to audio with the GH2 update, which is of keen interest to me, or at least that is what I seem to remember reading about early on with it. Am I correct?
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 12:24 PM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: GH2 firmware update

Nothing was changed with the audio that I noticed or read about.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 12:30 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 8,421
Re: GH2 firmware update

Thanks William. I guess I misremembered.
Jeff Harper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2012, 11:04 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 121
Re: GH2 firmware update

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Harper View Post
I thought there were some improvements to audio with the GH2 update, which is of keen interest to me, or at least that is what I seem to remember reading about early on with it. Am I correct?
audio upgrade is via hack.....
Mark Slade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2012, 12:12 AM   #11
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 106
Re: GH2 firmware update

I actually found the dual mode ETC update annoying. (separate on/off buttons for photos and video) Since I only use ETC for video, now it is just another button press to turn on ETC for video, since you have to arrow down a row in the ETC menu. ETC is mapped to the F2 button, and it used to act like an ETC toggle on/off button with the old firmware. But now that I have to arrow down a row, it forces menu navigation where there previously wasn't.

I admit this is very nitpicky, but since the camera can't turn on/off ETC during recording - I am often scrambling to flip this feature on/off in between fast takes, and it adds a step.

Ironically, I've never been able to get ETC to work during photos, and I've tried a few times. But I don't shoot a lot of photos so I've never bothered to troubleshoot.

Thanks,
Angelo
__________________
Ironbird Studios - www.IronbirdStudios.com
New Jersey / New York City - Music / Audio / Video Production
Angelo Ucciferri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2012, 05:43 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cornwall UK
Posts: 793
Re: GH2 firmware update

Angelo.
Getting ETC to work in photo mode confused me as well. It only works in certain modes. Check page 67 of the manual
__________________
Colin
Colin Rowe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8th, 2012, 06:03 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sunny California
Posts: 513
Re: GH2 firmware update

Yes, it's an extra step - but for me, it's worth it to keep from being in the wrong mode when I switch from stills to video.
Bill Bruner is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network