G6 50p footage glitch with FCPX at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 7th, 2013, 02:31 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southend, UK
Posts: 165
G6 50p footage glitch with FCPX

Hi guys,

Something odd I noticed today, just wondered if there is an explanation or it is a glitch!

Since having my G6 I have shot everything in 1080 24p. The footage imports and plays back perfectly in FCPX.

I shot some stuff in 1080 50p today. Did my normal, copied the card over and imported into FCPX. This footage plays back extremely choppy (was shot at 100 shutter speed, before anyone suggests this reason!) I re-imported the media but this time optimised it for FCPX and this sorts the issue.

Just seems strange that 50p stuff has to be transcoded. Anyone else noticed this???

Darren
Darren Ruddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2013, 03:47 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: G6 50p footage glitch with FCPX

Yes, it happens to me on one computer and not another with footage from Panasonic G cameras. Depends on the computer. Remember that AVCHD footage is very processor intensive for your computer to uncompress and playback. While 24p works fine for you, playing 50p more than doubles the amount of work your CPU has to do. Somewhere in there is a data bottleneck which displays itself with choppy playback. Optimized footage in FCPX is not compressed the same way, makes larger files (ProRes codec) but requires a lot less work from your hardware.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation

Last edited by William Hohauser; November 7th, 2013 at 06:04 PM.
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2013, 04:18 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: G6 50p footage glitch with FCPX

Quote:
Yes, it happens to me on one computer and not another with footage from Panasonic G cameras
Is it only the g6 that causes issues? The g6 uses the same codec many other camera's use today so you should have the same issue on those camera's as well. Even my older I7 950 processor without any raid played and editied native avchd 28mbs 1080p 50p footage without any stutter in my NLE, so if FCPX needs to transcode when any newer generation CPU is used it should be a limitation of the NLE and not the CPU.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2013, 05:27 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southend, UK
Posts: 165
Re: G6 50p footage glitch with FCPX

I get your point William. However, I used to shoot with an EX1 and my Mac could easily handle the 50p 35mgb files...just seems strange. I suppose its an AVCHD thing.

For my money FCPX handles AVCHD better than Premiere, even if I do have to optimise 50p footage
Darren Ruddock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2013, 05:47 PM   #5
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,064
Re: G6 50p footage glitch with FCPX

Yes, but premiere does that natively while fcpx needs to transcode, if you transcode to an intermediate codec it takes the compression out of the footage so it's normal that play and edits much smoother, if it is normal however in fcpx that avchd footage plays back extremely choppy like you said it's not an "avchd" thing, it's a fcpx thing.
Noa Put is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2013, 05:53 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boston, MA usa
Posts: 148
Re: G6 50p footage glitch with FCPX

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darren Ruddock View Post
I get your point William. However, I used to shoot with an EX1 and my Mac could easily handle the 50p 35mgb files...just seems strange. I suppose its an AVCHD thing.
FWIW the EX1 shoots 1080/25p or 1080/50i, not 50p. That "p" IS cpu intensive.
Keith Rollinson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 7th, 2013, 06:18 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: G6 50p footage glitch with FCPX

The EX1 records in MPEG2, not H264, which is easier on the computer.

50 or 60p is very tough on computers but not all of them. A MacMini or MacBook might have problems or an older iMac. A older MacPro can get a video card upgrade which should take care of problems like this. I NEVER optimize and edit happily on my 2009 8-core MacPro all codecs from my GH3. However my MacBook Pro from 2011 will briefly choke on 50mbps files from the GH3 if (and only if) the image is very complex and full of movement (water, field of flowers in the wind, crazy hand-held). It never has a problem with 24 mbps files.
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:53 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network