GH3 with Adobe CC at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 19th, 2014, 09:43 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 253
GH3 with Adobe CC

I bought a GH3 a few weeks ago for aerial video and I live the camera. This weekend my Mac died and I'm in the process of buying a new computer. I would like to start using the Adobe CC. I shoot in The 1080/30fps/72mbs raw mode. How does Adobe handle this footage. ? Can I import and edit native or will I have to convert? I don't want to shoot in AVCHD

Thanks
John Cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 19th, 2014, 11:18 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Aberdeen Scotland
Posts: 594
Re: GH3 with Adobe CC

You should have no problems with native files from the GH3 into CC.
Donald McPherson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 20th, 2014, 05:02 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Grosse pointe, michigan
Posts: 189
Re: GH3 with Adobe CC

Works fine in CC but most have found the .mov 50mbs setting to provide a better picture than the 72.(a lot less noise)
Roy Feldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 24th, 2014, 02:13 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Posts: 153
Re: GH3 with Adobe CC

I agree with Roy.

In my case, I use 1080p50 being in a PAL country and I cannot "see" the vision through my Matrox MXO2 as it is a non-compliant format, but I use it with 1080i footage from a GH2 so I drag a GH2 file to the new sequence icon in the project window to create a 1080i sequence to match the GH2. Then when I edit GH3 50p shots in there, they play at 25fps. I can still create true slo-mo by making the clip 50% and all the frames are still there for great slo-mo.

Are you buying another Mac or a PC? Apart from the lack of proRes, I think a PC would be an advantage for Premiere re: price/performance because of the wide range of graphics cards available.

Cheers
__________________
MW
Mark Whittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 26th, 2014, 11:10 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego CA
Posts: 253
Re: GH3 with Adobe CC

Im going with a PC from ADK. I can then start looking at what Im shooting after post and adjust my shooting settings then. I have been told the best results will be 1080@60fps with a shutter of 125. I have to start shooting ,render and post just to see whats going to work best. Pans have been the problem. But, my older Mac couldnt play the file back smoothly due to lack of processor capability
So, Ill be really happy when I can finally see what I shoot.
John Cash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2014, 12:00 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: altamonte springs,fl
Posts: 49
Re: GH3 with Adobe CC

Adobe will handle any thing you give it
Bruce Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 5th, 2014, 01:21 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bunbury, Western Australia
Posts: 153
Re: GH3 with Adobe CC

Yea, use 1080p60 but 50Mb/s not 72. Looks cleaner.

The .mov isn't raw as such; it is basically h.264 in a quicktime wrapper.

Cheers
__________________
MW
Mark Whittle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 8th, 2014, 01:54 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC USA
Posts: 132
Re: GH3 with Adobe CC

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Cash View Post
Im going with a PC from ADK. I can then start looking at what Im shooting after post and adjust my shooting settings then. I have been told the best results will be 1080@60fps with a shutter of 125. I have to start shooting ,render and post just to see whats going to work best. Pans have been the problem. But, my older Mac couldnt play the file back smoothly due to lack of processor capability
So, Ill be really happy when I can finally see what I shoot.
Glad your getting a PC, I'm not looking for a argument here, but, I personally think that the PC world is so much better due to the customizing that can be done. What ever PC you decide to build, get a good graphics card, as Adobe CS5 to Adobe CC supports a technology that is called Cuda Cores. Only NVIDIA has this technology, not ATI. What it does is it shares the processing of the GPU with the CPU. The settings are done in all of Adobe's Apps in the preferences, Really helps with rendering. Just Google Adobe approved graphics cards and you can see a list of what is currently approved. The main differences from one card to the next is how many Cuda Cores it has, the more Cuda Cores, the higher the price. Built my PC 3 years ago, and it still handles almost anything I throw at it. But it won't handle 4K, That I will have to upgrade my PC for.
Leon Kolenda is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network