Import GH4 clips into FCP 7 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series
4K and AVCHD on a Micro Four Thirds system camera with interchangeable lenses.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 18th, 2015, 02:04 PM   #1
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

Does anyone have a workflow for converting GH4 1080P clips into ProRes for FCP 7? Will Compressor convert it to ProRes or is there a plug-in required (like what you had to do with early 5D footage)?

Cheers.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2015, 02:23 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 46
Re: Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

Seems to me that you should be able to log and transfer and drop the the clips on a ProRes timeline. That's if you're shooting in a .mov file.
Salvatore Privitera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18th, 2015, 04:45 PM   #3
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Re: Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

Right, my thought too hence my question to see if anyone has actually done it.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2015, 07:49 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 46
Re: Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

I'll give it a try tonight.
Salvatore Privitera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2015, 07:34 PM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 46
Re: Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

Well I gave it a try. I imported a clip into FCP 7 and set up the time line to ProRes 422 HQ. Dropped the clip on the time line and bingo it worked. You'll need to render so it will play in real time but seems good to go.
Salvatore Privitera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 19th, 2015, 09:08 PM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 1,550
Re: Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

Why does ProRes need to be rendered? I thought being a less compressed format it wouldn't need rendering
Pete Cofrancesco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2015, 09:47 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Middletown, CT
Posts: 46
Re: Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

It probably dose not have to - I have a 2011 MacBook Pro and it's kind of slow but the important thing is that it works.
Salvatore Privitera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20th, 2015, 11:27 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: New York City
Posts: 2,615
Re: Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

Use EditReady to re-wrap the files into QuickTime. Depending on the computer, re-wrapped files should play in realtime in lower resolution on a ProRes timeline..
__________________
William Hohauser - New York City
Edit/Camera/DCP production/Animation
William Hohauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 21st, 2015, 12:03 PM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Thousand Oaks
Posts: 1,095
Re: Import GH4 clips into FCP 7

Not sure I understand the issue. Are you talking about importing 4K to a 1080P timeline or 1080 to a 1080 timeline.

I only shoot 4K with the GH4 now. The few HD projects I shot with the GH4 I just used log & transfer and it converted and imported the ProRes files just fine. Once imported it didn't require any rendering.

I pretty much use this 4K workflow for everything now:

I place the 4K files directly from the memory card into a batch list in MPEG Streamclip to convert to 4K ProResLT. You can also choose ProResHQ but I don't notice that much of an increase in quality considering how much more data HQ produces.

Then I use DaVinci Resolve to color correct, Pan & Scan the 4K files and out put 1080P. Since FCP7 is at the end of its life, I started doing this with the intent of doing my editing and color correcting in one application. However the editing tools aren't there in Resolve 11, I hear Resolve 12 is comparable to FCP7 but its not available until next month.

I have not tried EditReady.
Chuck Spaulding is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic LUMIX G / GF / GH / GX Series

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network