P2 "CARD ERR" driving me nuts-o at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 18th, 2008, 07:10 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 24
P2 "CARD ERR" driving me nuts-o

We've been shooting some footage on an HVX-200 for around a year without any significant problems. Last week we started getting a card error: "CARD ERR1", when the P2 card was inserted in slot 1, and "CARD ERR2" when in slot 2.

One guy tried re-formatting the card, after which it worked just fine... for 3-4 more days. Now it's went back to the CARD ERR1 in the middle of a shoot, which thusly ended prematurely. Re-formatting the card every time it happens isn't my favorite solution, especially if we're on location somewhere when it pops up.

Any ideas as to what's causing this? Has anyone seen anything like this? The manual suggests turning off the power, then turning it back on. Whoa, amazing solution, right? Didn't work in our case. The other suggestion is to try another card.... We don't have another card right now and that doesn't tell us why it's happening.

Peace,

GWG
Garrett Gibbons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 18th, 2008, 09:30 PM   #2
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: PERTH. W.A. AUSTRALIA.
Posts: 4,356
Can you get at the electrical contact surfaces on the card where they go into the camera slot.

If the card has been shoved in a sweaty shirt pocket a few times and picked up a bit of condensation, these may have accummulated some debris or scunge and become a little resistive or bridging between conductive paths through a conductive surface accummulation might be happening, just enough to corrupt something.

A clean may be all that is needed. The matching socket in the camera may eventually need cleaning as well, something I would prefer to leave to a camera technician.

FOOTNOTE:

Please do not pay too much heed to my comments as I have only played with Sony not Panasonic's P2.

Last edited by Bob Hart; April 18th, 2008 at 09:49 PM. Reason: error
Bob Hart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19th, 2008, 06:31 PM   #3
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Sounds like you're trying to erase the cards in a computer instead of formatting them? Don't do that. Format the cards. That's what they're made for.

In the early days Mac users would delete the contents off the cards, but after the firmware update for 16GB cards that workflow just doesn't work anymore. Format the cards. Format them in the camera, or right-click and format from Windows, or use the Mac P2 Format Station software. Your problem should disappear if you use this proper workflow.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2008, 05:55 PM   #4
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 24
Yeah, we actually have been formatting them right in the camera's menu-- a proper format job. I'll try cleaning up the terminals to see what happens. Thanks for your help, everyone!
Garrett Gibbons is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:56 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network