P2 in Final Cut Pro at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 15th, 2010, 01:52 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 163
P2 in Final Cut Pro

Okay, this is another newbie question. I have installed the P2 driver and a plug-in called Calibrated. I loaded the footage I shot to my Macbook Pro hard drive via USB 2.0 and when I clicked on "import" in FCP, there was no "Panasonic P2."

What am I doing wrong here? Do I need to download a converter? As you can probably tell, I have no clue as to what I am doing. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Jason Chang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 01:58 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
In Final Cut hit Apple + Shift + 8 (opens log and transfer window).
Your clips should appear in the window. If not, you have a problem mounting your P2 on your Mac.

-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 02:37 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Diego, CA USA
Posts: 163
P2 Flow / Abdio .MOV Converter

Thank you so much. Log and transfer did the trick. By the way, do I need to purchase any 3rd-party software to speed up the work flow? If so, what would be best software for now?
Jason Chang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2010, 03:59 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 628
To to capture - edit - deliver. Final Cut Pro Studio can do all these things. 3rd party is usually for specific things. If you don't like Apple Color there is Magic Bullet. If you are trying to manually sync audio there is Plural Eyes. If you are trying to create "WOW" factor transitions, there is GenArts Sapphire.

Different tools for different jobs.
-C
Christopher Drews is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 22nd, 2010, 04:35 PM   #5
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
But if you have Calibrated, you don't have to do Log & Transfer -- that's the whole point of getting the Calibrated plug-in! You should now be able to just drag the MXF files directly to the timeline without going through the L&T process.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 08:08 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 37
Barry, with Calibrated do you drag all the components of the MXL files into the bin or timeline.

Paul Hudson
Lizardlandvideo.com
Phoenix Video Production
Paul Hudson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 23rd, 2010, 05:28 PM   #7
Trustee
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Posts: 1,499
I just drag the MXF files in the Video folder right into my FCP bin and I'm good to go.
__________________
--==Kevin==--
http:filmmakingnaturally.com
Kevin Railsback is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:13 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network