DVC Pro HD/30pn takes forever to export at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2010, 12:35 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 185
DVC Pro HD/30pn takes forever to export

I just Finished a 2 minute clip DVC Pro HD/30pn with my HPX 170. Some clips were Over cranked at 48 frames per second. I used Adobe Premiere CS4 just as a test. When I exported, it took over an hour to export the 2 minute clip. Nothing special other than a few transitions and the slow mo from the camera. I'll post this in another area in this Forum, but since I'm new to the P2 cameras, I thought I would ask here. I have a decent computer but I thought the time to export is rather long. Does anybody know if there is something I'm doing wrong?

Computer: MB GA EX 58-UD5
Diamond Radeon HD 4870
i7-860 2.8 ghz 8mb cache
(3) WD Caviar Black 2TB 7200/64mb/Sata
Windows 7 64 Bit
12 gig Ram

Thanks for helping
Art
Art White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2010, 04:31 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Singapore, Rep of SINGAPORE
Posts: 749
Art,

You didn't say what format you export to from Premiere CS4. I use HPX172 (PAL version of your HPX170). I don't use Premiere CS4 (but have it installed), but Grass Valley's EDIUS version 5.5. A two minute clip will take me about 3 minutes to export to native EDIUS HQ format. If I export to MPEG2 - depending on what program I use to transcode - it could take about 3 to 5 minutes. Export to AVCHD is long - about 10 - 15 minutes (using Adobe Media Encoder CS4).

I use Supermicro system - Vista 64, 24GB RAM, dual Xeon quad core CPUs (3.2Ghz), nVidia Quadro 3500.
TingSern Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2010, 07:39 AM   #3
Trustee
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Deep South, U.S.
Posts: 1,380
Agree with Tingsern. I shoot using P2 mostly at 1080i and edit with Edius 5. Importing P2 files using the Edius importer is about 1:1 with my system. Export of a 45 minute video to mpeg2 at 8000 CBR "fine" setting is about 60 minutes. My specs. are below. . I remember back when I was using Premiere 6.5 on a Dell GX280, Pentium 4 - 2.8 GHz Processor a 1 hour video would take about 16 hours to encode to mpeg2.

Edius 5, HDSPARK, Asus P6T Deluxe mobo, i7-920 processor, Antec 900-2 case, Corsair 650 watt p.s., Corsair 3GB XMS3 PC3-12800 DDR3, Sapphire HD4830, WD 160GB Caviar, 1TD WD Caviar Black, Lite-on IHAS324, Sound Blaster X-FI Titanium, Vista 32 bit, Amtron P2 card reader, Samsung LN19A330 HDTV, Panasonic HPX170.
__________________
Mark
videos: http://vimeo.com/channels/3523
Mark Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2010, 03:52 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 185
I exported to Quicktime for a video to upload to Facebook. I'm not too familiar with HD video. For years I was using SD and the time to export, of course, was much faster. I'll have to play around with some of the export settings. I just thought that was a long time just for a 2 minute Quicktime movie.

Thanks for the info
Art
Art White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 21st, 2010, 08:17 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Singapore, Rep of SINGAPORE
Posts: 749
Art,

Way too long - 2 minutes requiring 1 hour to export. It should take, at most, 15 minutes for that task (For AVCHD). Anything longer - is suspect. What version of QT are you using?
TingSern Wong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23rd, 2010, 01:04 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 185
TingSern,

I figured it out. I have the latest version on my desktop and laptop. Tried it on my laptop and it worked fine. The desktop is 64 bit and Quicktime is a bully on that computer. Haven't tried AVCHD yet.
Art White is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24th, 2010, 12:30 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Singapore, Rep of SINGAPORE
Posts: 749
I know that the latest version of Quicktime has a problem. Use the previous version or at least the same version that is on your laptop should be okay.
TingSern Wong is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:57 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network