HPX 250 sync 2 cameras? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 1st, 2012, 08:45 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?

I'm going to do an all day shoot with 2 of these units. Anyone know of methods to keep them in sync with one another without renting a lockit box or such? Can I periodically jam sync one camera to the other or what?
thx
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 08:06 AM   #2
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Re: HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?


I have the HPX371 and you just take timecode out to timecode in and set the clock, it then takes the incoming timecode as its reference.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2nd, 2012, 09:48 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
Re: HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?

thx for the video.
Wonder how long the TC will stay in sync? Should I use a genlock cable between the two cameras and keep the wired TC in/outs?
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2012, 11:58 AM   #4
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Re: HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?

You should genlock the cameras for best results. You also have to designate one as the Master and one as the slave for Timecode as there is only one spigot for TC In/Out. Resyncing is useful if you don't have to be frame accurate all the time but just close. No guarantees unless completely connected the whole time.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3rd, 2012, 07:09 PM   #5
Trustee
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cornsay Durham UK
Posts: 1,941
Re: HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?

Should be good for a few hours just on timecode but what most people do is break it down and re-sync at lunchtime and evening to keep the timecode refreshed.
__________________
Over 15 minutes in Broadcast Film and TV production: http://www.imdb.com/name/nm1044352/
Gary Nattrass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2012, 09:34 AM   #6
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Re: HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Nattrass View Post
Should be good for a few hours just on timecode but what most people do is break it down and re-sync at lunchtime and evening to keep the timecode refreshed.
If you want exact Timecode match then you need to stay connected as I mentioned in my earlier response. Refreshing every few hours but not staying connected will allow drift into the equation. Most shoots this is easy to deal with in post.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4th, 2012, 10:35 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Burbank CA
Posts: 466
Re: HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?

Well, I tried it today using the video instructions but I couldn't get it to work. The slave camera's TC did not sync to the master.
On top of that, If you set the slave TC to TC in, it seems the camera will not record unless it see's an incoming TC. After I couldn't jam sync it, I had to reset the TC to generate.

#2-What the heck does TCG/TCR really do?
David Morgan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 6th, 2012, 01:39 PM   #8
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,267
Re: HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?

David,
Sorry you are having so much trouble. Hard to say what is going on. When you set the camera up to be the Master you want it to generate TC all the time and not have it switch if you are playing back a clip which might confuse a camera which was receiving the playback TC. As to only being able to lock to TC when connected and then not record without a signal this would not be very useful. I do use my 250 as source not slave as my HPX2000 is easier to slave. Maybe I will be able to see if my 250 works the way you describe.
Daniel Epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27th, 2012, 05:50 PM   #9
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,070
Re: HPX 250 sync 2 cameras?

I just finished a all week multi-camera shoot last night. We drove our time code using the Tascam 8 track audio recorder as our audio master and we used a timecode slate. My recommendation is that you use either an external audio recorder or time code slate as your time code master clock or rent/buy a time code generator box to serve as the tc master source.

Relying on the time code generators in low end cameras can work, but is not always as rock solid as one would hope them to be. Battery changes, voltage brownout dips and differences between master clocks are all possible culprits in the tc slipping out of sync with each other. Genlock is a good idea, if the HPX250 has a genlock input.

My 02 frames worth!

Dan
Dan Brockett is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:29 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network