Final Cut and P2 question at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 25th, 2006, 01:43 PM   #1
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Final Cut and P2 question

For whatever reason, I can't Copy to HDD in 1394 Host Mode, so I was able to do a 1394 Device Connect mode and I have the two cards as NO NAME on my Apple desktop. I decided to just copy the files to my hard drive, but how do I import them into Apple?

Barry, et al, any thoughts?

Thanks,

Heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 05:11 PM   #2
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
"host mode" is for using a dedicated hard disk, not copying to a computer.

For copying to a computer, "device mode" is the right way to go.

Copy the contents of one of the cards (the "contents" folder and the "lastclip.txt" file) into a folder on the Mac hard disk. Each card gets its own folder, don't mix 'em all into one folder.
Then run FCP 5.0.4 (make SURE it's 5.0.4!) and use the appropriate "easy setup" to start a new project, then just go to file->import->Panasonic P2. Point to the folder where you copied the cards to, and the clips should show up. Choose which clips to import, or "import all".
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 06:56 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
View my tutorial at www.proapptips.com/shane

It is called P2 INTRODUCTION.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 09:45 PM   #4
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Shane and Barry,

I followed your instructions, esp. Shane's tutorial, but when I select my folder that contains the contents and the .txt file, it tells me "Selected Path Does Not Contain a P2 Volume". Any thoughts?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 09:46 PM   #5
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
ps-I did download and install the plug-in on Shane's site, and re-started, but no luck.

hwm
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 10:50 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
That plugin is so your computer will recognize the P2 card when mounted on a Powerbook, or via the camera. If all this is on a hard drive, you don't need that software.

Hmm...running FCP 5.0.4 and QT 7.0.3?
\
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 11:19 PM   #7
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
FCP 5.0.4 and QT Pro 7.0.4.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25th, 2006, 11:28 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
Go to the actual CONTENTS folder and open it. Verify that there are five other folders including PROXY, VIDEO, VOICE, ICON, AUDIO, VIDEO.

Then open the VIDEO folder. Anything in there?
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 12:08 AM   #9
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
There are six folder, including VOICE (which is empty). VIDEO is not empty.

hwm
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 01:09 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
Create a new project. Use the Easy Setup that matches the setting you shot as.

Then try the import again.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 02:26 AM   #11
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
And make sure you haven't changed the name of the contents folder or the lastclip.txt file either...
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 10:06 AM   #12
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
If I shot 1080i 24p, what should I set it up to? 1080i60?

Thanks!

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 10:38 AM   #13
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
I had re-named the folders and changed the name back and bingo, I got it up! Now, is 1080i60 okay?

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 11:46 AM   #14
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
RENAMED THE FOLDERS! Ahhhh.

Never ever do that. Now you know. Now hopefully others will know. YOu can name the folder you drop the CONTENTS folder into, but you cannot rename that folder or things won't work. Glad you got that working.

1080i 24p? Uhm...interlaced AND progressive? No no no. it is either 1080i60, or 1080p24. Try a 1080p60 timeline and see what happens. I haven't used that format (since the camera is a 720p native camera, I don't see any reason to go 1080p).
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 26th, 2006, 12:16 PM   #15
MPS Digital Studios
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Palm Beach County, Florida
Posts: 8,531
Well, the camera isn't exactly 1080p24--it's 1080i with a 3:2 (or is it 2:3) pulldown that does the 24p "thing," for lack of a better word.

However, 720p 24pn is something interesting: true 24p, not 24p in a 29.97 fps signal a la the DVX100a, etc. Not that I don't like the DVX100--it's my favorite minidv camera and I've shot or been a part of nearly 70 short films shot with it.

heath
__________________
My Final Cut Pro X blog
Heath McKnight is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network