Step by Step Overcrank at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 12th, 2006, 11:10 AM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: providence, USA
Posts: 3
Step by Step Overcrank

I have a G-5 Quad 2 gig RAM with FCP 5. I am trying to get the
slo-mo look on my clip that I shot with my very new HVX 200
camera - Recording format 720P/24P
Recording framerate set to 60 fps
Scene file - film cam

When I bring the 60 fps clip into an FCP timeline of 23.98 fps I must
render the clip of course but it barely seems slower - not like what I have
seen done by others online applying the overcrank method. I have tried to
apply a Modify - Speed change - sometimes the timeline freezes - I only have firewire 400 maybe firewire 800 will do better when I get it. Is this
the way to get the overcranked real slo-mo with HVX 200 and FCP?

If I bring the clip into an FCP timeline of 59.94 fps it doesn't need to be
rendered of course and if I slow -mo it through Modify speed change
it also doesn't need rendering. It looks like I want it to look but with frame blending. But I want to understand why the 23.98 fps doesn't work like I think it should.

Could someone write the necessary steps in order for both camera and
FCP to get the slow - overcrank look.


Also with the P-2 card files ( .mxf ) from the HVX 200 camera, when you go to trash them, many are locked. Is there a more efficient way than going to each and unlocking.
Sally Kingsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 12:03 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 198
Your doing the process entirely wrong, first you have to shoot with the PN setting on the camera if you don't want to do any reverse telecine procedures... then you can bring them right into the FCP timeline.

If you have a native 60p clip, you need to take it into cinema tools and convert it to 23.98. (batch conform)

then go find it and reconnect it. then it will look fluid..

does that help?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sally Kingsbury
I have a G-5 Quad 2 gig RAM with FCP 5. I am trying to get the
slo-mo look on my clip that I shot with my very new HVX 200
camera - Recording format 720P/24P
Recording framerate set to 60 fps
Scene file - film cam

When I bring the 60 fps clip into an FCP timeline of 23.98 fps I must
render the clip of course but it barely seems slower - not like what I have
seen done by others online applying the overcrank method. I have tried to
apply a Modify - Speed change - sometimes the timeline freezes - I only have firewire 400 maybe firewire 800 will do better when I get it. Is this
the way to get the overcranked real slo-mo with HVX 200 and FCP?

If I bring the clip into an FCP timeline of 59.94 fps it doesn't need to be
rendered of course and if I slow -mo it through Modify speed change
it also doesn't need rendering. It looks like I want it to look but with frame blending. But I want to understand why the 23.98 fps doesn't work like I think it should.

Could someone write the necessary steps in order for both camera and
FCP to get the slow - overcrank look.


Also with the P-2 card files ( .mxf ) from the HVX 200 camera, when you go to trash them, many are locked. Is there a more efficient way than going to each and unlocking.
__________________
Cassidy Bisher
http://dropdropstudios.com
Cassidy Bisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 12:44 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
If you shot 60p, then you use the DVCPRO HD FRAME RATE CONVERTER to convert that to 23.98 slo motion. It is very smooth.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 01:10 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Grand Rapids MI
Posts: 198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane Ross
If you shot 60p, then you use the DVCPRO HD FRAME RATE CONVERTER to convert that to 23.98 slo motion. It is very smooth.
Yea, and I have done this many times in cinema tools as well...
__________________
Cassidy Bisher
http://dropdropstudios.com
Cassidy Bisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 12th, 2006, 02:49 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: providence, USA
Posts: 3
Thanks Cassidy & Shane

I appreciate the help. I am getting a better idea of the
the different possibilities. I just used the frame converter - great tool.
I'll try Cinema Tools.
Thanks
Sally Kingsbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2006, 01:16 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Macau
Posts: 331
Any way you can get normal 24p from a 60p source? I would like to do a normal speed to slowmotion shot- like a guy running, then suddenly a guy aproaches for a punch, in slowmotion- all in the same shot!
__________________
If you don't believe in your film, no one else will.
Sergio Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 15th, 2006, 02:59 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
Use the Time Remap option. Slow your footage down then use time remap to speed it back to normal, then gradually slow down.

Good tutorial here:

www.proapptips.com/captmench
Shane Ross is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2006, 02:18 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Macau
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane Ross
Use the Time Remap option. Slow your footage down then use time remap to speed it back to normal, then gradually slow down.

Good tutorial here:

www.proapptips.com/captmench
Thanks, Shane. very nice tutorial! However, I can't do this in a 24 or 25p timeline, right? I need to do this with a 60p timeline. Can cinematools convert 60p to 24p and maintain 24p normal speed? (No slowmotion effect?)
__________________
If you don't believe in your film, no one else will.
Sergio Perez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 16th, 2006, 02:47 AM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 539
Just drop the 60P footage into a 24P timeline and render. It looks fine. Or get the Standards Converter from www.nattress.com and use that. Same result though.
Shane Ross is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network