Please someone help with Video Input Question! at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 15th, 2006, 01:46 PM   #1
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5
Please someone help with Video Input Question!

Hi guys,

My question is this - I have a AG_HVX200 and I work for a newspaper. We are currently search for a way to run a high end VCR (which has a firewire output along with the usually AV Cable output) into the Camcorder where I can record the footage coming in from the VCR onto the P2 card. Is this even possible? If it is, and you know how this works, if you could please lay out a plan of action to help me along. Thank you!

Either post here or email me at geoff.brennan@tor.sunpub.com thanks. also, panasonic hasn't been much help and has not returned by calls about this (not the first time)...

Geoff
Geoff Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2006, 02:33 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 355
I guess my first question is why?
If you have the deck why would you need to dump that to P2?
I guess it would work if the tape is DVCPRO HD.
Set up the HVX for 720 60p and try a test???
I know some people have gone FCP timeline back to P2.
Read the manual for specific instructions.
__________________
Mike Schrengohst
dvd.pro@verizon.net
Mike Schrengohst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2006, 03:08 PM   #3
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5
Thanks Mike, here's a little more info (and for anyone else who could help):

The newspaper that I work for are attempting to take stills from a VCR cassette tape. When the VCR is run directly into the camera, the quality of the picture is about 1MB in size. When a still is taken off of footage recorded by the AG-HVX200 and dumped into the hard drive, the file is way way better quality and about 8-10MB for a frame grab. that is why i have been asked by the company to try and figure out how to do this.

the VCR has a firewire and regular AV output, i just don't know how to capture it through the camcorder.

Thanks, and please, someone, get back if you know!

geoff
Geoff Brennan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2006, 03:58 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
I've tried and it won't work

You cannot go firewire or s video or composite to p2.

You need to record to tape.
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2006, 04:21 PM   #5
New Boot
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 5
Thanks David!

What are the settings then that I need to put it at to go to DV tape? I know I can import that stuff into my HD no prob, I just don't know what settings to have the camcorder on! Thanks!

Geoff
Geoff Brennan is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:52 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network