P2 Questions at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old August 19th, 2006, 06:17 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 384
P2 Questions

I read on the Panasonic website that the maximum number of clips on a P2 card is 100. Is this the same despite whether you are using a 4 GB or 8 GB card ? Do you set clip length before you begin recording, or can the card be divided up after recording ?
Mark Donnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2006, 06:32 PM   #2
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Donnell
I read on the Panasonic website that the maximum number of clips on a P2 card is 100.
I don't know where you read that, but it's not true. I've recorded well over 100 clips on a single 4gb card. In fact, while browsing the forums I decided to just intermittently push "record/pause" on the HVX to see how many clips I could fit on a 4gb card. The final tally? 798. Might have gotten a few more if I'd pushed the button faster.

Last edited by Barry Green; August 19th, 2006 at 07:24 PM.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 19th, 2006, 11:17 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 681
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Green
I decided to just intermittently push "record/pause" on the HVX to see how many clips I could fit on a 4gb card. The final tally? 798.
You pushed the button a total of 1,596 times while browsing the forums? ...Methinks you're a poster boy for OCD or you're smokin' crack. LOL.
__________________
- Jeff Kilgroe
- Applied Visual Technologies | DarkScience
- www.darkscience.com
Jeff Kilgroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2006, 12:11 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 384
Thanks, Barry. So new clips are generated whenever the recording is paused. If you recorded the 4 GB card as one clip, I infere that you could not retrospectively divide that one clip into many smaller clips after the fact. Is that correct ?
Mark Donnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2006, 10:23 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Donnell
Thanks, Barry. So new clips are generated whenever the recording is paused. If you recorded the 4 GB card as one clip, I infere that you could not retrospectively divide that one clip into many smaller clips after the fact. Is that correct ?
Correct. The good news/bad news about clip-based recording is that your clips are automatically generated in-camera every time you press the record button. The bad news is that you have to load the entire clip when you edit. If you're doing long interviews, it's worthwhile to train your reporter/producer to pause after each response, let you make a new clip, then ask the next question. Otherwise you could end up having to load a 10-minute clip for a :10 bite.
__________________
DP/Editor, Sputnik Pictures | Atlanta
HD video and RED digital cinema production
Scott Auerbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 20th, 2006, 11:21 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 384
Got it. One more question - after you have transferred your clips to a computer and edited them, can you write the edited file back to the P2 card and then play it elsewhere using the camera as a playback device ?
Mark Donnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2006, 01:23 AM   #7
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff Kilgroe
You pushed the button a total of 1,596 times while browsing the forums? ...Methinks you're a poster boy for OCD or you're smokin' crack. LOL.
Well now, when you spell it out like that it does sound pretty bad. But yes, it was at least 1596 times. Actually I just kept tapping it at regular intervals so I probably pressed it a lot more than that! :)
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 21st, 2006, 01:25 AM   #8
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Donnell
Got it. One more question - after you have transferred your clips to a computer and edited them, can you write the edited file back to the P2 card and then play it elsewhere using the camera as a playback device ?
Yes, this is extremely easy with EDIUS as you can render out a camera-playable MXF straight from the timeline. With Avid or FCP you can "print to video" and have the camera record the incoming firewire stream and record that.
Barry Green is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:49 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network