Artifacts In Images at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old September 26th, 2006, 03:25 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 29
Artifacts In Images

Hi.

Anyone else encountered this kind of problem (see pics)?

Any idea what causes it?

Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Artifacts In Images-113b.png   Artifacts In Images-162_small.png  

Jonathan Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 03:32 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 220
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan Lutz
Hi.

Anyone else encountered this kind of problem (see pics)?

Any idea what causes it?

Thank you.

I had the same garbled mess on one of my VX2000's about a year ago. And I narrowed it down to something in the capture process. Im not saying thats whats causing your problem, especially if your footage was imported from P2. My problem originated from the capture process from My VX2000 via firewire into Sony Vegas. If it is on your P2, just for a test, try down converting the footage in-camera, and dubbing to tape, then capture to hard drive. I dont know if this will produce any answers or not, but its worth a try...
Jason Burkhimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 03:33 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 29
I suppose it would help to give you more details...

We shot this as DVCPro50, 16:9. I wasn't the DP though, so that's all I know about what went on in-camera.

We had a PowerBook on set and loaded the cards in via the expansion port (correct name?) on the side of the G4, i.e. the one that's BUILT INTO the laptop. We DID NOT use the P2 card reader/drive. We wrote to external hard drives (ATA, 7200, 8MB cache) via FireWire 800 (though, since it's not a 64-bit G5, it was writing at 400 Mb/s, like FireWire 400).

After we imported and backed up on a 2nd drive, we'd re-format the card in-camera.

BTW - we also backed up on DVDs.

Thanks, again.
Jonathan Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 05:16 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 69
So is it on the DVD's also ?
Vince Curtis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 26th, 2006, 09:56 PM   #5
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
The problem is the Mac. Macs are not fully reliable when importing P2 files, and this glitch is exactly what can happen. It's rare but it happens, and it only ever happens on Macs.

Apple recommends you not import directly from the cards; they instead suggest that you should do a "disk image" of the card onto your hard disk, and then import from there.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 05:10 AM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 59
Do you know if this has been fixed with the new import feature of the FCP update thatīs out?
Christian Schmitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 10:39 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Green
The problem is the Mac. Macs are not fully reliable when importing P2 files, and this glitch is exactly what can happen. It's rare but it happens, and it only ever happens on Macs.

Apple recommends you not import directly from the cards; they instead suggest that you should do a "disk image" of the card onto your hard disk, and then import from there.
Go figure! Well, that helps. It makes sense (kind of), though it's very weird.

I really hope it's fixed in FCP 5.1.2, as I've heard that update will handle P2 a lot better.

Thanks!
Jonathan Lutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 27th, 2006, 10:58 AM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 29
BTW, I checked the DVD backups we made and the problem does exist there as well, which makes sense, considering we were backing up the .mov files that were created when we imported into Final Cut.

I was thinking: we also backed up the CONTENTS files, so they should be clean, since they're pre-FCP import. Unfortunately, we ran out of disk space before we got to those cards (the ones with the "problem" clips), so we don't have their CONTENTS folders for me to check.

Thanks, again.
Jonathan Lutz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:28 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network