P2 Store at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old November 12th, 2006, 09:30 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 43
P2 Store

Is the P2 storage device buletproof or is their any chance of loosing footage?
Paul Brady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2006, 11:10 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
I've read about some issues with the p2 store and Final Cut Pro.

But I'm also interested in these device, and hope we get further input and any resolution of issues.
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2006, 11:50 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 223
I've never had a problem with mine... and it's been bumped around a bit.
Sam Jankis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2006, 02:00 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 43
I've never had a problem with mine either. Ocassionally between set-ups on ultralow budget shoots I have to transfer footage while walking, and I've taken to walking much like a steadycam operator to prevent the shake light coming on.
I am a mac user and there's been no problem, even though I'm on a Intel mac and therefore can't use the P2 store manager.
Hope this helps.
John
__________________
If any one knows a good on-line ordering facility for dunces caps; I'll take 20.
John Jencks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 10:46 AM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
John:

What functionality, if any, do you lose by not having the p2 store manager available on the Intel Mac?
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 13th, 2006, 03:06 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco/Paris
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Saraceno
John:

What functionality, if any, do you lose by not having the p2 store manager available on the Intel Mac?
the p2 store manager is helpful to see how many cards and which cards (by looking at the card serial) are backed up in it.
it's a tool to check the device, change some of the internal settings, and I think you can use it to erase just one card instead of all at once.
__________________
Sights Sounds Stories
www.tinboxtwo.com
www.reardenstudios.com
Eric Peltier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 03:47 AM   #7
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: London, UK
Posts: 43
David,
Sorry, I don't know what functionality you loose not being able to use P2 manager, because I haven't had a chance to use it.
I'd like to though, if it would give more control over which cards I can pull off the P2 store rather than having to download them all at once. Which is what I have to do now, or have to spend ages working out which files I've downloaded and which ones I have not.
Hope this makes sence.
Despite this problem I still stand by my P2 Store, it works well and is particullarly useful when shooting on location.
John
__________________
If any one knows a good on-line ordering facility for dunces caps; I'll take 20.
John Jencks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 14th, 2006, 11:26 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 605
Mine's been great (knocking on wood) though I am very careful with it. I just wish Panny would come out with a bigger HDD for it.

Peter
Peter Richardson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 09:45 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Shokan, NY
Posts: 217
Can anyone tell me if the PS store downloads only in real time or is it a faster data download??

Thanks.
Jim Sofranko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 10:09 PM   #10
Barry Wan Kenobi
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3,863
Depends on what mode you shoot in. In 1080 mode it's realtime. In 720/24pN mode, it's 2.5 times faster than realtime. In DV mode it's 4x faster than realtime.
Barry Green is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 15th, 2006, 10:45 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Shokan, NY
Posts: 217
Thanks for the quick reply, Barry.
Jim Sofranko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2006, 10:42 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 228
Mine (with the Intel MacBook Pro) is working flawlessly. I would like that P2 Manager, however, as that it would be nice to be able to wipe one card instead of the whole drive.

Stephen
Stephen Pruitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2006, 11:08 AM   #13
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry Green
Depends on what mode you shoot in. In 1080 mode it's realtime. In 720/24pN mode, it's 2.5 times faster than realtime. In DV mode it's 4x faster than realtime.
Not certain what these comments by Barry mean?

This is just transferring the contents of the p2 store to your harddrive.

Wouldn't the data transfer be the same regardless of what mode the video was shot in?
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23rd, 2006, 12:37 PM   #14
New Boot
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 13
No, because he's talking about footage length in time, not amount of data. 720p 24pn takes up a lot less drive space than 1080i 24p, thus it takes a shorter time to download. DV takes even less space, so again, it is faster to download.
Faisal Lutchmedial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 17th, 2007, 05:16 PM   #15
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1
P2 Store on Intel Macs

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen Pruitt View Post
Mine (with the Intel MacBook Pro) is working flawlessly. I would like that P2 Manager, however, as that it would be nice to be able to wipe one card instead of the whole drive.

Stephen
I have an Intel MacBook Pro and when I connect the P2Store, it doesn't want to mount the cards. I can see them in Disk Utility, but it won't mount them. Is there anything I need to do, anything I need to install?
Thanks.
Cristian Olariu is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:30 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network