Problem with HVX footage in FCP. at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 6th, 2007, 10:19 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 49
Problem with HVX footage in FCP.

Alright guys, this one may take a while to explain as I've never encountered it and just describing is going to be tough.

Two months ago I shot some footage for a music video I'm doing. We're working on it whenever the band (and myself) have free time. Today I opened FCP to play around with the footage. I have a rough cut of the video going so there's edited footage in the timeline that I can view. But today I was watching the footage and saw a short clip in the timeline that I wanted to change, so I went to find the source clip in the browser only to click on it and have nothing come up in my viewer.

The clip in the timeline plays fine, but the source clip seems to have vanished. I click on it and it's just a black screen.

I search my computer for the original quicktime file, open it, and there's nothing but a white screen. This is a large piece of footage that I need, what happened?
Jeff Ray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 11:34 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 228
It HAS to be there. . . that's just how FCP works. It can't play footage that isn't there, so there must have been some sort of a file name corruption or something.

See if you can find the original .mxf file you shot off the HVX. Worst case, you can always reimport that clip back into the sequence.

Stephen
Stephen Pruitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 6th, 2007, 11:38 PM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 670
Jeff, I use P2 Log to create XMLs (Using FCP v5.0.1 I think) so that is how my footage ends up as independent .mov files. I'll assume you're importing P2 directly with FCP?

If that is the case, I can only venture a guess; but I would eliminate variables one at a time. You say you found the source QT file, but is only white screen. When you browse to it in Finder, does it display all the inherent info about the file (size, resolution, etc.)? Does it preview at all in the finder?

What about all the other footage you are working with, is this happening with any other clips? If not and it is just that one, it should be easy to replace by re-importing the original P2 volume and selecting only that clip to import. Assuming you backed up the P2 data, you'll be alright.
__________________
youtube.com/benhillmedia
linkedin.com/in/benhillmedia
Benjamin Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2007, 11:22 AM   #4
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Jeff,

This doesn't sound specific to P2 footage, this almost sounds like a corruption in Final Cut. I'd have the moderator move this to the FCP forum where you'll get the right eyes looking at this.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 7th, 2007, 05:36 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Teaneck, NJ
Posts: 659
You need at least FCP 5.0.4 to work with P2 files.

And because Apple has noted some issues with rendered P2 material in 5.0.4, you should cross-grade to FCP 5.1. There are some import issues with 5.1.2, so you might be safest with FCP 5.1.1

Ned Soltz
Ned Soltz is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:27 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network