Tranferring footage to comp at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 11th, 2007, 01:08 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 57
Tranferring footage to comp

To transfer footage recorded to a P2 card, do you just plug the camera in via firewire and then have access to the files to drag/drop? How do you get this footage onto the computer?

(I am asking out of curiosity - I don't have the camera, but considering buying before March 31st to take advantage of their free 8gb P2 card promotion).
Daniel Cegla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 12:15 PM   #2
James Jones
 
Posts: n/a
You have to have the P2 driver loaded, but yeah...the card mounts like an external HD and you can drag to your internal HD or edit from the card. It really depends on what NLE you are using...each have their own workflow. One very, very important thing to remember is...BACK UP YOUR FOOTAGE, this cannot be stressed enough.

James
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 02:29 PM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Jones
You have to have the P2 driver loaded, .

James
but only if you are using a PC, then you would also use USB. If you have a Mac and FCP, then Firewire, and FCP handles the import.
Dick Campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 02:38 PM   #4
James Jones
 
Posts: n/a
While you can import directly into FCP, I would not recommend it. Not for stability reasons, but when you import directly from the P2 card you are not backing up the footage. Like I stated in my other post, it really depends on what NLE you are using. With FCP I would recommend that you first copy the P2 card to your HD and then import from there...that way you have a copy of your media on the P2 card, a copy on your HD and the imported copy in your Capture Scratch.

James
  Reply With Quote
Old January 11th, 2007, 04:06 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 670
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Cegla
To transfer footage recorded to a P2 card, do you just plug the camera in via firewire and then have access to the files to drag/drop? How do you get this footage onto the computer?
If your computer has a PCMCIA slot (like a G4 PowerBook, for example) you can read the P2 cards directly and transfer even faster than FW.
__________________
youtube.com/benhillmedia
linkedin.com/in/benhillmedia
Benjamin Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2007, 09:36 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by James Jones
While you can import directly into FCP, I would not recommend it. Not for stability reasons, but when you import directly from the P2 card you are not backing up the footage.
I've never had a problem with this. Ever. Have you?
If you just watch your imported footage before formatting your P2 cards, there really isn't a reason to backup the .mxf files. After import, I go to my capture scratch folder and back the .mov files up and that's it.
Sam Jankis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2007, 10:52 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Posts: 670
I disagree Sam; in the absence of an original source tape like the good old days, backing up your entire P2 card with all the metadata (whether you or not you use it) is the closest thing to having the same kind of security. Watching all the footage before you back it up is an extra step that I don't always have time to do.

Saving the entire P2 card data is the next best thing to having a tangible source tape, and it doesn't make the files bigger because most of it is video & audio anyway.
__________________
youtube.com/benhillmedia
linkedin.com/in/benhillmedia
Benjamin Hill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2007, 01:10 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 57
So to confirm - I do not need to buy an extra hardware or P2 card reader, etc.? Just the firewire cable from the camera to my PC running Premiere Pro 2?

And from what I understand, it is best to not edit directly from the P2 card, but rather to copy the files to HDD first and then edit from there.
Daniel Cegla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12th, 2007, 02:58 PM   #9
RED / Scarlet / DVXUser
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Colorado
Posts: 29
If you have a usb cable you can offload to your pc using the camera (with card in it). No extra stuff required. Just install the proper drivers off of the disk that came with your camera.

Jason
Jason Ramsey is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:59 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network