black balance at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 14th, 2007, 07:07 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 300
black balance

do you guys adjust black balance of HVX?
I always do white balance, but never done black balance...
Andzei Matsukevits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 08:04 PM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 77
Black balance is just setting the voltage through the CCD to zero and balancing that image to pure black. The camera does it every time you white balance.
Jason Boyce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 08:20 PM   #3
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Boyce
The camera does it every time you white balance.
If the camera has a separate black balance function, then I have to disagree there, Jason.

I can't attest to the HVX200 because I don't own one. However, the Sony F350 not only has a separate black balance, it has two modes... a quick BB and a more thorough BB which wipes out the previously stored values in the matrix and starts over from scratch.

In contrast with that, my former Canon XL cameras had no such user function and may have performed the function automatically along with WB as you suggested.

regards,

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 09:15 PM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 355
To set the HVX200 black balance you just hold the white balance button longer and then the bb is adjusted.
__________________
Mike Schrengohst
dvd.pro@verizon.net
Mike Schrengohst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 09:19 PM   #5
Wrangler
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: DFW area, TX
Posts: 6,108
Images: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Schrengohst
To set the HVX200 black balance you just hold the white balance button longer and then the bb is adjusted.
Thanks for the clarification, Mike. So as I understand you, it's not automatic, correct?

-gb-
Greg Boston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14th, 2007, 10:04 PM   #6
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Page 41 of the manual clearly shows the how and why to use ABB adjustment.

Black balance is not automatically done when the white balance is performed, it is a separate operation but unlike AWB it doesn't require using a card in front of the camera, the camera takes care of ABB internally, and as described in the manual it should be done more often than you'd think. The manual suggests doing an ABB:

- When using the cam for the first time.
- When using slow shutter speeds
- When temperature changes are drastic
- When switching between "interlaced" and "progressive" modes
- After a long period of not using the camera (that period is undefined by the manual).

A good rule of thumb is that if you have to do an AWB you could also do a Black balance. It's just a few extra seconds of time and has no detrimental effects on the camera.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 07:53 AM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 300
sorry, if i didnt get it. But can i adjust BB if the cap on? Or i dont need anything in front of camera?
Andzei Matsukevits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 09:16 AM   #8
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Belfast, UK
Posts: 4,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andzei Matsukevits
sorry, if i didnt get it. But can i adjust BB if the cap on? Or i dont need anything in front of camera?
I expect the HVX200 works like other video cameras when doing an ABB, the lens iris automatically closes completely.

It's generally good practise to do a black balance at the start of the shooting day. I'd also do it if you change your gain settings in the menu.
Brian Drysdale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15th, 2007, 03:16 PM   #9
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andzei Matsukevits
sorry, if i didnt get it. But can i adjust BB if the cap on? Or i dont need anything in front of camera?
That's right, it doesn't matter if the cap is on or not when doing an ABB adjustment. And Brian's suggestion of doing a ABB at the beginning of a shoot is a good idea. The few seconds it takes to do it can do wonders in helping keep the output as good looking as possible.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network