P2 import to Final Cut Pro? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old January 28th, 2007, 11:01 PM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san fransisco, CA
Posts: 34
P2 import to Final Cut Pro?

I'm importing my clips into final cut pro and in the p2 import window on the left hand side a couple of my clips have a half filled in circle instead of the full filled blue circle. What's that all about? The clips look fine in the p2 import window and on camera but once I hit cue and put them into the timeline they are really choppy and are sped up a ridiculous amount.

All of the clips were shot in 24pn 24fps and out of all of the clips it there are about four that aren't working

Ive tried everyway I could think of to re-import the clips but no matter what I do it ends up with that half filled blue circle.

If anyone knows of a way to fix this problem please tell..

Thanks,

James
James Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 12:37 AM   #2
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 78
What version of FCP are you using?
What is the setting of your sequence?
But most of all what screen are you seeing a blue circle half or full in? I don't have either in my P2 import screen. Can you include a screen shot?
Martin Iverson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 10:46 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 233
I do not have my edit computer eavailable right now to verify but I am pretty sure that if you set in and out points in the logging section of the P2import screen that the blue dot shows up half filled, indicating that there is more "footage" available.
Phillip Palacios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 02:09 PM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san fransisco, CA
Posts: 34
Martin,

I am using the newest version of FCP. I've never had this problem berfore so this seems strange. The small blue circle would be on the top left hand next to the clips waiting to be imported. Before you import the circle is blank and after the import the circle becomes blue.

Phillip,

Nomally that would be correct, but I have not set any in and out points before the import. I just selected all of the clips in the upper left and hit 'add selection to queue' Almost all of the clips are fine, but only four have the half blue circle and play back choppy and sped up. The footage looks fine on the camera as well as the right hand window of the P2 import window, but once they are in FCP they play back sped up and choppy
James Adams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29th, 2007, 10:49 PM   #5
Go Go Godzilla
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Scottsdale, AZ USA
Posts: 2,739
Images: 15
James,

You might try these troubleshooting steps:

- Trash your FCP preferences, reboot and re-start FCP.
- In Apple Disk Utility use the "verify/repair disk permissions" function.
- Open a new project file and reimport to this fresh project.
- Make sure your sequence and timeline settings match your frame-rate and codec.
- The latest version of FCP is 5.1.2 - make sure that's what you have.
- If you have a copy of either P2 Log, P2 Genie or HD Log use those programs to convert the raw, MXF files into QT's and then import them into FCP and see if the same behavior exists.
- If you still have the clips on P2 cards, try reimporting them after you've done the above clean-up.

If the clips are fine in-camera and you don't have any "!" or other icons in the thumbnails in-camera then this is a FCP-software issue.

See if any of this helps and let us know either way.
__________________
Producer/CEO
Reel Lane Films LLC
Robert Lane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30th, 2007, 03:29 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: san fransisco, CA
Posts: 34
Robert,

I just tried all of that and I made sure to delete the clips in the capture scratch as well so i could just reimport the clips from my camera. It still came in with the half circle

I think I may have to do what you've suggested and use one of those other capture or log methods and then go into FCP from there..I just dont have any right now
James Adams is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network