I just received v3.0 for FS-100 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders
All AG-HPX and AJ-PX Series camcorders and P2 / P2HD hardware.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 6th, 2007, 06:00 PM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
I just received v3.0 for FS-100

I just got my copy of the v3.0 upgrade for the FS-100.
Has anyone else gotten it installed, and tested it?
I am waiting to make sure it works before I do install mine.
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6th, 2007, 09:56 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
I am going to answer my own thread since most likely no one has gotten their upgrade yet.

I uploaded both the upgrade for the camera and for the FS-100.

Since I open this thread I have been playing with it and so far I have discovered that the upgrade does not work with the fast speed (3 fps.) that I had in one of my settings.
I tried the QuickTime PN and it works. At the regular frame rates that the camera comes with also works. I tried it at 12 fps. and also at 60 fps. without a problem.

Another thing at 720/24p 24 fps. with the FS-100 set at Quicktime PN, the timer shows that I have 240 min. left on the drive.

If someone out there was waiting for some other unit that could do PN, wait no more.
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2007, 12:35 AM   #3
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Pete, FL
Posts: 223
Very cool. I'm probably going to stop waiting for the Cineporter and just buy one of these.

Thanks for posting this.
Sam Jankis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2007, 11:08 AM   #4
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Inland Northwest
Posts: 490
Remember that the v.3.0 does not work with VFR -- as yet.
David Saraceno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2007, 12:51 PM   #5
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
I think that the FS-100 is a good product. The con is the battery. Get extra batteries if are doing run & gun long form.
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2007, 04:06 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douglas Villalba
I think that the FS-100 is a good product. The con is the battery. Get extra batteries if are doing run & gun long form.
This is the biggest complaint I've heard.
I think the firmware updates might fix the other issues. VFR would be nice... maybe on v3.1?
Jon Wolding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2007, 06:11 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
To be honest with you all, I like it that VFR doesn't work as with the P2 card.

Let me be more specific. With the P2 in 720 PN if you shoot for slow-mo you get only slow-mo without sound. The way it is now and it was before is that you have to use Panasonic's Frame Rate Convertor to change the speed. This way you get the best of both. Regular speed with sound and you can always convert.

For example I like the way that 720/60p looks at lower frame rates. Lets say that you just want to get super 8 effect to the movie shooting at 18 fps. With the P2 you would get under crank speed and I just wanted the effect of lower frame rates.
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2007, 06:25 PM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Teaneck, NJ
Posts: 659
The FS-100 always did work with variable speed footage. It just won't work with VFR when recording in native modes, at the moment. So, if you want to record VFR to be processed in FCP by the Frame Rate Converter, just shoot it as you normally would, but do not set the FS-100 for native. Same thing actually applies even in FCP. If you shoot VFR, do not remove pulldown on ingest to FCP. Let it come in as a 59.94 file, which is what the FRC requires. Then let the FRC output in your desired frame rate.

Ned Soltz
Ned Soltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 7th, 2007, 07:01 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ned Soltz
The FS-100 always did work with variable speed footage. It just won't work with VFR when recording in native modes, at the moment. So, if you want to record VFR to be processed in FCP by the Frame Rate Converter, just shoot it as you normally would, but do not set the FS-100 for native.
Ned Soltz
You actually don't have to take of the PN, you just have to convert it in post.

I just shot some footage set at QuickTime PN 720/24 60 fps, 720/60 12 fps it just captures it at 720/60p. You do the converting in post.
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 01:22 PM   #10
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Posts: 28
Got my update disc and am having trouble getting the HVX and FS100 to sync. I strictly followed the instructions for installation. Any ideas on issues that could be causing this?

Variable Frame Rate converter? Is that only on FCP or is it usable elsewhere - Avid?
Michael Mills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2007, 04:14 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Miami, Florida, USA
Posts: 479
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael Mills
Got my update disc and am having trouble getting the HVX and FS100 to sync. I strictly followed the instructions for installation. Any ideas on issues that could be causing this?

Variable Frame Rate converter? Is that only on FCP or is it usable elsewhere - Avid?
I don't know about Avid, but make sure that you don't have the ccamera on PN mode.
__________________
Douglas Villalba - director/cinematographer/editor
Miami, Florida, USA - www.DVtvPRODUCTIONS.com
Douglas Villalba is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Panasonic P2HD / AVCCAM / AVCHD / DV Camera Systems > Panasonic P2HD / DVCPRO HD Camcorders

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:32 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network