Length Limit for LANC? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Remote Lens Controllers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old March 19th, 2006, 12:42 PM   #1
Regular Crew
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 50
Length Limit for LANC?

Does anybody know what the length limitation is for a LANC cable? I have a need to control cameras from a long way away (say, up to 300 feet).

I've found threads where it has been done for up to 50' away, but I need to be a long way away from this...

All help appreciated...


You mean I can get paid to do this?
John Cloy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2006, 01:19 PM   #2
Major Player
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Scotland (UK)
Posts: 219
Hi John - not sure what the limitation is for the cable length, but should it turn out to be too short for you, have you considered a remote servo set up. We used to control a small video camera in a large (10' wing span) model aircraft using this method - a mate of mine is really into stills and video work using some pretty niffty set ups on a helicopter with ground monitoring - if you want his email address I can give that to you to see if he can recommend a set up for you - that is if you can't find a better way to do this.

Regards: Stu...
Stewart Menelaws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 19th, 2006, 03:16 PM   #3
Major Player
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Flagstaff, AZ
Posts: 473

I've run my GL2 LANC out over 100 ft using plain 4 conductor phone wire. Worked fine. Don't know what the limt is.
Rob Wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 31st, 2006, 05:51 AM   #4
New Boot
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: bellvue, CO
Posts: 13
In theory the max distance is only about 15 feet but it obviously works much farther than that. If you were to run a shielded cable (2 conductor with a ground shield) you might be able to make 300ft. The risk is twofold however.

First, any noise (transformer, lights, sound system) could bonk your control and the camera will stop responding.

Second, if you use a small guage wire (24ga or so) the voltage drop over the wire will be enough that the lanc controller won't work (lanc supplies 5.9v over the cable to run the controller). You could potentially get around that by supplying 6vdc at the controller.
Phil Jensen is offline   Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

Omega Broadcast
(512) 251-7778
Austin, TX

(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

(800) 238-8480
Glendale, CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Remote Lens Controllers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 AM.

DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2015 The Digital Video Information Network