Camera control software via firewire??? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Remote Lens Controllers


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old June 13th, 2006, 08:04 PM   #1
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Camera control software via firewire???

Hi,
I'm looking for a sofware programme that can control my camera from my laptop via firewire or usb.
Im not using the camera as a capture device to record to the laptop
I need a programme that will allow me to activate the camera and record onto the cameras MiniDV cassette.
I dont need any fancy zoom controls or anything
Just something that I can monitor and press record
Cameras that I have are
Sony HDR-HC1
Canon GL1
Cheers
Paul Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2006, 08:50 PM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
Which OS do you have?
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2006, 09:50 PM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
This one is not making sense to me. Are you talking about using it as a remote to control over internet ?

If you are just talking about controling it from a lap top connected by firewire, why bother. Get a LANC controler-- assuming your camera has the LANC input.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13th, 2006, 11:26 PM   #4
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Camera control

Yes I understand that
But I want to be able to use the laptop as a monitor also
both my cameras have lanc capabilities
Paul Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14th, 2006, 11:47 PM   #5
Tourist
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 3
Depends

Quote:
Originally Posted by John F Miller
Which OS do you have?
I havent purchased the laptop yet, I want to see if it works on my regular desktop first (it has Windows XP)
But would probably be Windows XP for my laptop also
Cheers
Paul Power is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2006, 05:20 AM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hillsborough, NC, USA
Posts: 968
You could take your camcorder along to your local Best Buy/Circuit City and explain you are in the market for a laptop and that a critical feature is the ability for it to work with your camcorder. Most Sony laptops have a built-in FireWire port (4-pin), so it would be too much effort for the person in the store! You'd need a 4-pin to 4-pin FireWire cable to try it with.
John Miller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 15th, 2006, 10:08 AM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Elk Grove CA
Posts: 6,838
Of course you can capture directly through the camera on firewire on just about any PC, but I was under impression you wanted to control zoom and focus capabilities too. I am not aware of anything that does that through firewire.

Incidentally, if you have an hdv rig, HDVSplit actually does a nice "tapeless" capture to my Compaq AMD 64 3200 lap top.
__________________
Chris J. Barcellos
Chris Barcellos is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > The Tools of DV and HD Production > Support Your Local Camera > Remote Lens Controllers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network