What? No cache recording? at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds

Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds
Pro and consumer versions including PXW-Z150, PXW-Z100, PXW-X70 / FDR-AX100


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old February 10th, 2015, 03:26 AM   #1
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney NSW
Posts: 220
What? No cache recording?

Wow. That's almost a deal-breaker for me.

Here I am about to order a new kit expressly for ENG work and I learn this? How did I not pick up on this before??

Why does this cam not have cache recording, I wonder.

DC
David Cleverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2015, 08:02 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee
Posts: 489
Re: What? No cache recording?

At the risk of sounding like an idiot - what is cache recording?
David Dixon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2015, 10:09 AM   #3
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Palo Alto, CA, USA
Posts: 51
Re: What? No cache recording?

And which camera are we discussing?
Atticus Lake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2015, 10:18 AM   #4
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 62
Re: What? No cache recording?

On the X70, I can tell you there is no function to record a period of time before you hit the record button.

Slightly disappointing yes, but with dual card slots you can basically always be rolling and just swap cards as needed to keep going. I have no need for that so I can't say how well it works in practice though.
Mike Buckhout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 10th, 2015, 10:28 AM   #5
Obstreperous Rex
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: San Marcos, TX
Posts: 26,900
Images: 513
Re: What? No cache recording?

Also known as "pre-record buffer." I thought most all pro camcorders using flash-based media had this.
__________________
CH

Search DV Info Net | DV Info Net Sponsors | A Decade (+5) of DVi | ...Tuesday is Soylent Green Day!
Chris Hurd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2015, 05:31 PM   #6
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 55
Re: What? No cache recording?

Yeah, true. Can see how this would be useful for event recording to save media space.

But tape based cameras didn't do this either, and now cards are getting so cheap:
$$$$$ for extra 2-3 minutes on P2 or CF > $ for extra 2 minutes on SDXC, right?

Anyone tried those new $90 256 GB PNY cards yet? If they work reliably, wow.
Tom Grushka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 11th, 2015, 09:28 PM   #7
Major Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 900
Re: What? No cache recording?

Quote:
Originally Posted by David Cleverly View Post
Why does this cam not have cache recording, I wonder.DC
No it doesn't Dave but with cards being so cheap and with hours of record time on board you could use the separate record function as a backup. Not quite as efficient as a rolling cache but it does work I've tried it.

Set up card A to record off the normal start / stop button on the zoom demand grip and set up card B to start / stop off the top handle record button. In a news situation where anything might happen and you don't want to miss is just hit record on card B with the handle button and let it free run. Do your normal stop / start recording on card A. Should you miss something on card A at least you know you have it on card B. Assuming your camera was pointing in the right direction of course :))

Chris Young
CYV Productions
Sydney
Christopher Young is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12th, 2015, 04:49 AM   #8
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney NSW
Posts: 220
Re: What? No cache recording?

Thanks Chris...good to know. :-)

Funny, though, how several-year-old cams do have this feature. You would think this would be standard by now - especially on a cam touted as "professional" and "Suitable for ENG"...perhaps in the firmware update? But that system you have explained would certainly cover it...as long as the cam WAS indeed pointed in the right direction! :-)

DC
David Cleverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2015, 01:25 AM   #9
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, Califonia
Posts: 1,330
Re: What? No cache recording?

I've had many cameras with cache recording, and in ENG, the only time I found this even slightly useful was during SWAT stand-off's when I didn't know exactly when they were going to flash bang the suspect. With the cheap plentiful media now adays, I never used the feature, I just let the camera roll continuously, then every 10-15 minutes stop rolling and delete the clip of nothingness and roll again. :)

Paul
Paul Anderegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 13th, 2015, 02:08 AM   #10
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney NSW
Posts: 220
Re: What? No cache recording?

Yeah good point Paul.

I was thinking last night "yeah, but if you let the cam roll, you'lll have to traverse hours of footage to find the shot", but your idea solves that problem.

That said, cache has saved me at times at a dance concert where suddenly the song starts and you weren't ready. Same at corporate events where someone starts talking out of the blue...it has saved me more than once in those scenarios...but then again, maybe now I would be using cheap SD cards (I only have 4 expensive P2 cards for my current cam so I button off a lot on long events to save space), continual rolling will become the norm.

DC
David Cleverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 14th, 2015, 11:10 PM   #11
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, Califonia
Posts: 1,330
Re: What? No cache recording?

The other things to do would be to stop the recording as soon as possible following what you were waiting for. This way, you know what you need is located at the end of the giant multi GB clip.

Paul
Paul Anderegg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2015, 12:57 AM   #12
Major Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Sydney NSW
Posts: 220
Re: What? No cache recording?

Yes!

Kind of like Cache Recording advantages but in reverse...

DC
David Cleverly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 15th, 2015, 06:20 AM   #13
Trustee
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, Califonia
Posts: 1,330
Re: What? No cache recording?

I'd rather think the concept of pre-recording still holds. :)

Paul
Paul Anderegg is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 PM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network