HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900 at DVinfo.net

Go Back   DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds

Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds
Pro and consumer versions including PXW-Z150, PXW-Z100, PXW-X70 / FDR-AX100


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old April 9th, 2015, 03:54 AM   #1
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 101
HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

I've looked high and low for an answer to this, but have unfortunately come up dry.

I know the CX900 and AX100 record internal 4:2:0, but does the HDMI bypass the compression and output true 4:2:2, or is it also 4:2:0?

(I realize the X70's SDI output is 4:2:2)

Thanks!
Nathan DuMoulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2015, 05:06 AM   #2
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kanto Plain (関東平野), Japan
Posts: 804
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

I tried to find that out also, for the FDR-AX100. Contacted Sony and they said they won't give that info out.
The HDMI outputs a signal in all recording modes except 4K. I'm guessing that it's not any better than what gets written to the card, since they don't advertise this spec. It would be a good selling point if it was better quality.


Mark
Mark Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2015, 08:19 AM   #3
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

[QUOTE=Mark Watson;1882627..... It would be a good selling point if it was better quality.
Mark[/QUOTE]

Why on earth would they do that ? The reason it is lower cost is because it is missing features that are on the more expensive products. That is why they cost more. If you want 4:2:2 4K buy the FS7 or the PXW-X100. You then get 50/60P as well as many other features. Companies go broke if they give too much away. I want Sony to stay around. Since the AX100 and the X70 are based on the same core there has to be some real differences.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2015, 08:48 AM   #4
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Burnaby, BC, Canada
Posts: 2,963
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

You're forgetting the A7s. That outputs 4K HDMI and a Shogun or Odyssey 7Q+ will be able to capture that in what we presume is 4:2:2.
__________________
I wait for the day cost-efficient global shutter 60fps capable CMOS sensors emerge for use on major manufacturers' cameras. (Sony, Canon, etc.) Rolling Shutters are a plague.
Jack Zhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 9th, 2015, 09:10 AM   #5
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 142
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

Unless manufacturer's give us details (which, IMO they really should), it's all guess work. I know I've had a terrible time gathering specs on occassion.

From what I can tell about the A7 mentioned, that would output 8-bit 4:2:2 over HDMI. The X70 of course outputs 10-bit 4:2:2.

If a manufacturer fails to provide specs, I think a good assumption to make is that the output bit-depth would be the same as the in-camera bit-depth. It's then a 50-50 chance that the subsampling would be better via HDMI as compared to in-camera.
Ricky Sharp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2015, 12:32 PM   #6
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kanto Plain (関東平野), Japan
Posts: 804
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

I did some testing with the AX100 and BMD Hyperdeck Shuttle 2. Even though the camera outputs on the HDMI when in an HD recording mode, the output seen by the recorder is either 1080i or 720p.

Mark
Attached Files
File Type: doc FDR-AX100 HDMI OUTPUT.doc (54.5 KB, 200 views)
Mark Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2015, 04:39 PM   #7
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

The output format for HDMI can be set in the menu . Can be Auto, 2160p/1080p, 1080p, 1080i or 720p. I do not have a 4K TV but my TV/Monitor identifies the others as I set them in the FDR-AX100 menu so maybe the problem is with the BMD Hyperdeck Shuttle. HDMI needs a proper handshake to operate I think.

Ron Evans
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2015, 06:45 PM   #8
Regular Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 101
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Watson View Post
I did some testing with the AX100 and BMD Hyperdeck Shuttle 2. Even though the camera outputs on the HDMI when in an HD recording mode, the output seen by the recorder is either 1080i or 720p.

Mark
I've tested with the CX900 and Shuttle 2 without issue.
Nathan DuMoulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2015, 07:31 PM   #9
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kanto Plain (関東平野), Japan
Posts: 804
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron Evans View Post
The output format for HDMI can be set in the menu . Can be Auto, 2160p/1080p, 1080p, 1080i or 720p. I do not have a 4K TV but my TV/Monitor identifies the others as I set them in the FDR-AX100 menu so maybe the problem is with the BMD Hyperdeck Shuttle. HDMI needs a proper handshake to operate I think.

Ron Evans
Did you try it with the camera in RECORDING mode? Many cameras don't output the same type of signal when recording as when they are in standby or playback mode.

Mark
Mark Watson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2015, 09:17 PM   #10
Inner Circle
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,940
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

Yes in record mode at least to my Viewsonic 23LED monitor which shows what it thinks the signal is that is coming over the HDMI. The camera was actually recording 1920x1080 60P XAVC-S and I then changed HDMI outputs to all the choices one after the other. As the change was made the Viewsonic reported the change. As a double check I switched the Monitor to another input and when switched back to the input from the AX100 it again confirmed what was the input choice for each of 1080i, 1080P or 720P . Of course I can only report what the Monitor says not what the actual stream is that is being measured.
Ron Evans

Edit: Just repeated the tests with my 7" MustHD monitor which reports exactly the same as the Viewsonic 23LED monitor so I think the issue is with your BMD Hyperdeck Shuttle.
Ron Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 11th, 2015, 09:34 PM   #11
Major Player
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Kanto Plain (関東平野), Japan
Posts: 804
Re: HDMI/SDI Output - X70 vs AX100 vs CX900

The Shuttle should have been able to record the 1080p modes. Maybe mine's busted.

Mark
Mark Watson is offline   Reply
Reply

DV Info Net refers all where-to-buy and where-to-rent questions exclusively to these trusted full line dealers and rental houses...

Professional Video
(800) 833-4801
Portland, OR

B&H Photo Video
(866) 521-7381
New York, NY

Z.G.C.
(973) 335-4460
Mountain Lakes, NJ

Abel Cine Tech
(888) 700-4416
N.Y. NY & L.A. CA

Precision Camera
(800) 677-1023
Austin, TX

DV Info Net also encourages you to support local businesses and buy from an authorized dealer in your neighborhood.
  You are here: DV Info Net > Most Recent Additions... > Sony 4K Ultra HD Handhelds

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 



Google
 

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:03 AM.


DV Info Net -- Real Names, Real People, Real Info!
1998-2017 The Digital Video Information Network